What Happens When Your Dreams Shatter Around You? |I Do Disney #3 | Sitting In The Clouds

For some people, life gets handed to them on a nice silver plate and sometimes even by a butler. For others, we have to work our butts off just to get by. But what happens when your dream, that used to feel exactly that, a dream, starts becoming a possible reality? You may get ahead of yourself, already imagining yourself living that dream, whatever it may be. You might get so caught up in your dream, you feel like it’s already happening. For me that dream was Disney, more precisely, working at Walt Disney World on their Cultural Exchange Program. It’s been my dream to work for “the mouse” as they say since I was a little girl. I’ve been lucky enough to be brought up with a Disney filled childhood and as I grew up that love blossomed into a dream to work there.

429966_3935664588084_194765003_n

For me, that dream was always possible if I took that step into the unknown. Disney has a program where university students, from all around the world, have the opportunity to work in the most magical place on earth during their summer break. This year I applied. In August, I received an email, I had been invited to a pre-screen interview. I was over the moon, my dream was slowly but surely becoming a reality. But like most people, or it may just be me, but I got ahead of myself. Getting that interview felt like I had reached my dream, in my head, I was going. I got too excited, my mum even started looking for hotels when I would be there next summer for god’s sake. My whole family had faith in me, my boyfriend even got me a custom t-shirt with “cast member in training” on it. Everyone who surrounded me only made those feelings grow and IΒ even started saving, preparing myself for all the fees, making jokes that I would miss my yearly dentist checkup.

cimg8646

Last week, that dream came shattering around me. They had decided to not move me on in the application. I think my heart physically broke and so did my tear ducts, I cried and then cried some more as I told people and they hugged me with their apologises. My dad was the only person throughout this whole process that kept my feet firmly on the ground every time I spoke to him about it. Even when I told him that I didn’t get past the first interview stage he still said: “it’s not the end of the world”. It’s not what you want to hear when your own little bubble has popped and for you, your world has ended for the time being. But my dad was right. It’s not the end of the world, even if I didn’t want to hear it at the time.

img_2292

It’s been just over a week since I found out that my summer will not consist of making memories and magic for others next year, and it’s still sore to talk about and I end the conversation if anyone brings it up, but I’m okay. Walt’s dreams did not get handed to him on a plate. He didn’t randomly draw Mickey Mouse one day and overnight build Disneyland. He had his own struggles in the world, he was poor, he couldn’t afford to pay his rent and ended up homeless for a while. If it’s your dream, you have to work hard to achieve it, end of.

A wise man once said, “all your dreams can come true if you have the courage to pursue them”. Courage is being able to show strength in a time of pain. I have to be thankful that I even got invited to a face-to-face to interview. Thousands apply and only a few hundred get interviews. This is not my only chance to achieve my dreams. I will be applying next year, and the year after if that’s what it takes. I will not give up on my dream after failing to achieve it once. Life is all about knockbacks, and after them, you only come up stronger.

The result of my interview hit me like a tidal wave, I ate my weight in chocolate that night. But it’s okay to cry sometimes as long as you come back fighting harder than ever.



What are your dreams, are you chasing them? Let’s chat in the comments.

until next time,
xoxo, rachel

P.S. It feels good to be back…haha!



I Do Disney #1
I Do Disney # 2

Print

 

42 thoughts on “What Happens When Your Dreams Shatter Around You? |I Do Disney #3 | Sitting In The Clouds

  1. That’s such a bummer 😞I too am a huge Disney fan, so I know how much of a dream come true it would be to work for “the mouse”. Setbacks like these can be difficult, but like you said you’ll only get stronger and wiser from this. Wishing you all the best next year πŸ’•

    Liked by 1 person

      1. No worries πŸ’•& yes I have considered applying! 😊If it works out, perhaps in a year or two 😊 Until then, occasional trips to Disneyland or Disneyworld will have to do!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh no! I thought you were a shoowin. Well, now that you know a bit more of what to expect in the application process, it just means that you’ll have a leg up for next year. Keep the hope (and the dream) alive!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you so much! Yes, exactly, a lot of friends and family have said that, which is very true ❀ I met a few people who didn't get through and are also applying again next year so I'll have support from people in the same position as me ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m so sorry you didn’t get in this year. But you’re right, Walt worked hard to make his dreams a reality and this just means you get to follow in his footsteps a little bit more, working harder like he did. πŸ™‚ You know what’s coming for next year’s interviews! And if you ever want to chat, I did a program in 2014 and can help/share tips/be a shoulder to cry on if you’d like! Sending you magic and pixie dust! ✨

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Aw amazing! I’m currently watching Adam hattan do his second CRP and it looks incredible! It’s good to know that even if the CEP doesn’t work out for me there are other options πŸ™ˆ

        Like

      2. I don’t know him! But I bet he’s having a great time! You’ll always have options, and if a college program doesn’t work out, you can always just straight up apply to the parks when you’re done school. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Sorry you didn’t make it. But you can always try again. Or maybe try to get a job at Disneyland Paris? I have a friend who is a cast member there and they’ve done the exchange program a few times coming to work at WDW for close to a year before going back to their home park.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I know this and I know it’s so hard. I’ve been applying for jobs and it is so easy to get ahead of yourself and as soon as you get an interview you start planning all these scenarios in your head about the future in the job and then it doesn’t work and the disappointment hits. But like you said, it definitely isn’t the end of the world! Definitely keep trying because one day you will get it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have never known someone to be as enthusiastic about Disney as you are Rachel, and I truly believe you’ll get there!! You’ve got so much love and support around you, never doubt yourself. Xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

