My BRAND NEW Bullet Journal | Sitting In The Clouds

I think everyone can relate to me when I say that it’s nearly impossible to finish a notebook when you are a stationary/planner addict like myself. Therefore I am proud to announce, not only have I finished a notebook, I have come to the end of my first full year of bullet journaling. I had used the bullet journal system on and off for a couple of years now, but my black hardcover Moleskin you are used to seeing in my bullet journal posts was my first proper one. I’m sad to see it end, but I’m also so excited to have moved into a brand new Leuchtturm 1917 Hardcover dot grid notebook in teal. I can definitely understand why there is hype surrounding the Leuchtturm, it’s amazing!!



The first major plus side with the Leuchtturm 1917 is that it comes with a built in index, along with page numbers already done for you. Although I never saw the use before, I am really enjoying it so far. I know in the long run, being able to flip back to some really old collections will be useful.

IMG_5285.jpg

I am only planning on logging collections and the page each new month starts on so my index doesn’t get over cluttered. I will highlight the month in the corresponding monthly colour, August being turquoise, for easy access later on as it will stand out from the rest.

IMG_5286

My opening page hosts one of my all time favourite quotes…”we take photos as a return ticket to a moment otherwise gone.”

IMG_5289

A brand new spread for me, my year at a glance. I’m loving this collection so far, I get to write down events I have much further in advance rather than just the month before. I have given each month a colour, as well as colour coding my events. My colour code system hasn’t change since my last bujo. Pink = university, purple = social/me, blue = hospital/health related events, green = work and red = holidays, whether national or personal, as well as birthdays. 

IMG_5291.JPG

Turning the page is my birthday tracker. I’m not sure how much I will use this as I only have a select few birthdays I need to remember but it’s a pretty spread nevertheless. I love quotes so I try and incorporate them into my bullet journal as much as possible. I saw this quote on Pinterest and knew I needed it written down somewhere. “Age is merely the number of years the world has been enjoying you.”

The month’s colours on this spread correspond to my year at a glance spread.

IMG_5293

One of my favourite spreads I have done so far in my new bullet journal is my books and movies of 2017.

IMG_5294

I transferred this collection from my old bullet journal into my new one but changed the style of it slightly. Doing doodles relating to each film has really made the movie spread, in particular, stand out and I love it.

IMG_5296

IMG_5297.JPG

My next collection houses all of the films my two favourite actors have starred in, Tom Hanks and Jennifer Anniston. I say they are my favourite actors but I haven’t even seen half of their works so I want to gradually get through all their films. These lists will just help me keep track of them. Tick them off once I’ve seen them and highlight my favourites with a little heart.

I had to insert a dutch door in-between the pages to accommodate all of Tom Hank’s films. He’s done a ton and a full page just wasn’t enough.

IMG_5300.jpg

Next, I allowed myself a page for a list of books I need to buy, having had read them but not owned them and books I need to read. I also have a list of blog post ideas. Simple but very useful spread in the long run.

IMG_5302.JPG

Next, I have my “Saving Goals” spread. I’m not saving for anything in particular at the moment but I want to get into the mindset to save money from each pay check I get. I think it’s a good habit to get into. Having this spread motivates me to budget and put money into my savings as I get to colour in boxes. Each box is £20, once I have coloured up to the dotted line, I would have saved £100. Once this whole page is coloured in, I should have £2,000 in my savings.

On the opposite page, I decided to have my “30 Before 30” bucket list written out as I’m sure my savings will help me acomplish some of my bucket list items.

IMG_5301.JPG

My first month in my new bullet journal…August!

IMG_5303.jpg

Moving onto my first month in my brand new bullet journal. I stuck with collections that knew worked for me. As my bullet journal is so new, I’m scared to experiment just yet as I’m a perfectionist when it comes to my journal. Therefore you may have seen all these spreads before.

My monthly view is my usual one. I’m loving this style at the minute, it really helps me to visualize my month when I can separate my events into “all day”, “am” and “pm”. I also like having a space on the right to write any general tasks I need to complete this month as well as up coming events.

IMG_5305.JPG

IMG_5306.JPG

The dutch door style comes in really handy when you need more than a single page for your collection but not quite a full double page spread. Recently I have found that creating a dutch door for my monthly blog tracker and spending log works wonders. I have the perfect amount of room to include everything I need in each spread.

My blog tracker just includes a box to list all the blog posts I plan to publish, my monthly stats, as well as a notes section to jot down anything that comes to mind that month relating to my blog.

IMG_5307.JPG

My spending log has stayed the same for a while now as I’ve figured out exactly how this type of spread works for me. The bar graph style allows me to easily see how much I spend each day if any, and where I spend it. Each colour corresponds to a different category…purple = food, pink = me, green = travel, grey = car, blank = monthly expenses (Spotify, Netflix, phone bill etc)

It helps me to see visually, at a glance, where my money is going in ratio to different categories in my life. As you can see I spend a lot of food. The dutch door part of the spread, allows me to include a few extra areas relating to my savings, budgeting, and spending. I like to keep track of loans, if I owe anyone money or if anyone owes me any money. I like to budget at the beginning of the month and roughly jot down the key areas I will be spending my money this month, as well as how much ideally I would like to tuck away into savings.

IMG_5309.JPG

I have brought back the well-loved Tetris style mood tracker for this month but I simplified it a little by only including five shapes and five different moods.

I just love how colourful this spread looks once the month is up. Although it’s not the most practical spread, as I can’t see which day I was feeling what mood, it gives me a general idea how I was feeling overall that month.

As you can see another little quote managed to get into my bullet journal…” not every day is good but there’s something good in every day”.

IMG_5311.JPG

The opposite page holds my monthly habit tracker. A spread I have never gone without, even if it’s been weekly habits, I have always tracked my habits in some way. The month, I decided to colour my habits according to the day. Could you tell I love colour coding, each day of the week had its own colour…Monday = turquoise, Tuesday = pink, Wednesday = blue, Thursday = light green, Friday = purple, Saturday = dark green, Sunday = deep purple. 

IMG_5310.JPG

IMG_5313

I also decided to bring back my sleep tracker this month. I just love the look of it when it’s all filled out but it also helps me figure out how many hours I should get to feel good in the morning. At the moment I am trying to train my body to be up at 630am so I can make the most of my day.

Hey look another quote…” you were born an original, don’t die a copy”

IMG_5314.JPG

You bored of turquoise yet? haha!!

IMG_5315.JPG

Finally, after 24 pages, we have made it to my first weekly spread in my new bullet journal and I have to say it is one of my favourite spreads I have ever done. My bullet journal isn’t just a place to write all my to-do lists down in, it’s a diary and a memory journal. Therefore, I love doodling a little picture each day to remember something that happened that day. The first week of August was a great one, I met up with my friends twice, saw Dunkirk in cinema and found out my uni grades (highest grade…WHOOP!!!).

I have finally figured out a weekly layout that works perfectly for me. It allows me to have a master task list, a section of notes, as well as a place for me to jot down any up coming events in the following week, as well as track my water and includes a space for my doodles.

IMG_5319.JPG

I did try and participate in the Boho Berry Challenge this month but did two days and fell off the wagon. I just don’t think this is my kind of thing. I still love the spread though and don’t regret trying it.

IMG_5320.jpg

This spread is the current week. Not as busy this week but I still managed to doodle every day and I’m loving it. You may have noticed that each week I am altering the boarder colour and style, as well as the week day dates and headings. It just allows me to experiment and mix it up from week to week without changing my entire layout that I love very much.

IMG_5322.jpg

Another quote…what?! This was actually said by my boss as we have done something after work on Tuesday for the past two weeks and each time it felt like a Friday. It also just reminds me that no matter what day of the week it is, you can make it feel like Friday with your outlook, therefore I put it as a reminder in my bujo.

IMG_5323.JPG

Relating to the quote on the first page, I decided to do a little doodle page of everything that makes me happy. This collection is a working progress but so far I have things like, Disney, Youtube, books, catching up with friends, country music and Tom. It’s just a little reminder than when I’m not having a great day, these are the things I know will cheer me up.

Yesterday I planned out for the following week, this is how it turned out.

IMG_5325.JPG

I changed the pattern and colour of the border again this week and really love it. My boss’ birthday is on Tuesday so I have already doodled a little balloon to visually remember that. I also have Friendsfest, a yearly event for Friends fans, on Sunday so drew out the Friends logo to signify that. Once again I changed the week day headers, just so I don’t get bored of my weekly spreads, a simple change can keep it interesting without having to change it all.



If you have made it this far I congratulate you, that was one long post but I hope you enjoyed it nevertheless and it helped you get some inspiration for your own bullet journal.

I absolutely love how my new bullet journal is turning out so far and have a feeling I won’t be going back to a Moleskin. While they are great, Leutthurm just gives you that little bit more space, as they are slightly wider, as well as the already built in page numbers and index makes for easy use in months to come.

What are you favourite spreads in my new bullet journal? Also what type of bullet journal posts would you like to see as these are my favourite to do.

until next time,
xoxo, rachel 



Read More Posts From Me…

30 Before 30
Leaving Teen-hood
…And So The Journey Begins! | I Do Disney #1
June Plan With Me | My Bujo

 

47 thoughts on “My BRAND NEW Bullet Journal | Sitting In The Clouds

      1. I’ve no doubt it would have helped, I just haven’t had the time to sit down and do anything in it 😂 I will make myself again one day because I really enjoyed having it 🙂 i may have even got some new inspiration from yours here 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Dotted for sure. Lines are great for actual journaling when but when it comes to doing graphs, or any sort of doodles, dots can become lines or squares, lines can’t become squares very easily and I would think that setting up pages would take A LOT longer with lines as getting the perfect square it would take a lot more accuracy with the ruler. The dots are very subtle as well so once you draw over them, they are gone so it’s just a guidance upon a blank canvas. I wouldn’t get lines at all for my bullet journal. I know dotted grids are harder to come by, so if that’s the case I would go for a square grid as the second best option but 100% recommend dotted 😊 hope that’s helped get a better idea xxx

        Liked by 1 person

      3. I thought if I start again I might get a new journal so I’ll have a look for dotted ones 🙂 I was worried the dots would be really obvious too but you say they aren’t so I’ll give one a try 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I love your bullet journal. I have the same one, but so far I’m keeping it simple because even though I love the more artistic layouts, I find it too time consuming so then Instop using it altogether. You have some great ideas for tracking though, so I may have to borrow some of them!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Everyone has their own style and I do love the look of the simplistic bujo but I just love having a whole book of memories visually as I’m a graphic design student, I’m a much more visual person! Go ahead! Let me know how you get on with them!

      Like

  2. I love your journal, and I love how creative and artsy you are, all the drawings are absolutely stunning and perfect. I just picked up my first bullet journal last week in hopes that I would be able to corral a lot more of my ideas down together than being so separated between a journal, to-do lists and planner. I am so glad that I was able to stumble across you page in the search, and I can’t wait to read more posts by you!

    meg // mysprinkleofprep.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    1. AW haha, you’re too kind ❤ I do love Moleskins and think they are great and they are the cheaper option as Leuchtturm are nearing the £20.00 mark but I wanted to see what the hype was about, and I see it! I found the bullet journal community thanks to the glam planning community and the Happy Planner does look awesome, but for me I don't think a planner that has the same layout would work for me, the flexibility of the bujo is why i love it so much ❤

      Like

  3. Well done for finishing your notebook! I don’t think I’ve ever fully finished one before haha. Your journal is so pretty, I love your weekly spreads especially. I might start doing doodles for each day, I like the idea of having a visual reminder of how each day went. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This was such a beautiful post! I’m a fellow bullet journal junkie so this was a little too much like a crack fix for me – that savings spread is a bloody brilliant idea that I must try! Your journal is so colourful and pretty; I love it xx

    Liked by 1 person

  5. These are so nice! I’ve always wanted to try journalling/bullet journalling but i just dont think i’m creative enough or have the patience for it! So seeing this post and your journals really make me want to try it because it looks nice to have your everything organized and being tracked.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s definitely helped my life become more organised and without i,t I don’t know I would keep up with my life! I don’t think I could ever use another planning system!! Everyone can take the bujo system and accommodate it to them! I would give it a go! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

