11 Books in One Month | July Reading Wrap Up | Sitting In The Clouds

It’s official!!! I’ve never read so much in one month in all the years I’ve been an avid reader. I want to thank Zoe and Ariel, two of my favourite booktubers for hosting two of my favourite read-a-thons. Zoe’s 24HR Read-a-thon came first and got me out of my reading slump. I managed to read 2 books in around 17 hours. Then the Booktube-a-thon happened this past week and I managed to read 7 books in one week, completing all the challenges which is just so crazy, as most of the time I don’t even complete one book a week.



july-books2.jpg

What I Read…and their ratings
(books highlighted with an ‘*’ are the books I read during the Booktube-a-thon)

> Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick –  ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ .5
One of my all time favourite books (my favourite books) so I thought I’d reread it to help me get out of my slump and it seemed to have worked wonders, seeing as 2 and a bit weeks later I have finished another 10 books.
All About Mia by Lisa Williamson – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Lisa Williamson wrote another one of my all time favourite books, The Art of Being Normal. Therefore All About Mia has been on my radar for a while now. I read it during Zoe’s 24HR Read-a-thon and it was the perfect book to devour in a day. I loved it.
>
Fairest by Marissa Meyer – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ .5
I’m slowly but surely getting through the Lunar Chronicles but the size of Winter is so intimidating but hopefully, I’ll get round to it at some point before the end of the year. Overall I really enjoy this series and can’t wait for Winter and Stars Above. 
> Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ .5
Kate from GirlReading on Youtube recommended this read in one of her recent videos and it so happened that I downloaded it years ago on my e-reader. I decided to give it a go and absolutely adored it, but seeing as it’s a mystery I won’t speak a word. If you give it a go, go into it knowing nothing.
>
Tales of Beedle the Bard by JK Rowling – ⭐️⭐️⭐️
I adore Harry Potter but you definitely don’t need to read the short stories for it to add anything to the original series. I enjoyed this but it was nothing special.

link picture.jpg
> * 
Juniper Lemon’s Happiness Index by Julie Israel – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
This book was the booktubeathon pick. Another contemporary, another enjoyable read.
> * By Your Side by Kasie West – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Now I LOVED this book and may be my favourite book I read this month. New fictional boyfriend…DAX!!
> * 
Simon VS The Homo Sepians Agenda by Beckie Albertalli – ⭐️⭐️⭐️.5
A really great book with an amazing discussion point but because of the hype, I feel like I had too high of expectations for it, so it didn’t get as much love as I think most people give it. I still really enjoyed my time reading it though.
> * 
13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher –  ⭐️⭐️⭐️
I’ve seen the Netflix show and I adored it and watched the entire season within 24 hours…opsie! So when I saw this audiobook on my library app, I downloaded it to help me read more during the Booktube-a-thon.
> * 
The Eye of Minds by James Dashner –  ⭐️⭐️.5/75
I used to LOVE the Maze Runner and don’t get me wrong I still do love it, just not as much as I used it. I’ve had this book of Dashner’s on my shelf for a while and I was getting tired of reading contemporary so decided to pick it up.
>
The Walking Dead Vol.1 by Robert Kirkman – ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
This was a reread to complete the challenge to read an entire book outside for the booktube-a-thon. I adore The Walking Dead, tv show, and graphic novels. I have only got up to volume 10 in the graphic novels, but I read that one such a long time ago, it’s not that I’ve forgotten the story, as I have watched so many reruns of the tv show, it’s the art and what each character looks like in the graphic novels that confuses me and therefore, I want to reread the series, and the booktube-a-thon was the perfect time to do so.

Monthly Reading Stats

monthly reading stats



I still can’t believe the amount I read this month. I don’t think I will EVER read that much again but knowing that if I prioritize my time, I can read more, makes me so happy, and in August I’m going to make it a goal just to prioritize my time more wisely. I just need to learn to pick up a book more than watch hours of Youtube.

What did you read in July? Did we read any of the same books? Did YOU participate in the Booktube-a-thon? Let’s chat in the comments.

until next time,
xoxo, rachel



 

16 thoughts on “11 Books in One Month | July Reading Wrap Up | Sitting In The Clouds

  1. I’m not a big reader; never have been, but during the summer months, one of my favorite past-times is heading down to the river, lay out a towel, and read while I smoke a cigar with my Fella. As such, I’ve started reading nothing but Sophie Kinsella books and have enjoyed everyone one! I especially liked The Undomestic Goddess. I’m currently reading Wedding Night and it’s pretty funny. If you’re in need of a good, fun read, I would suggest checking out her books. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I finally finished Joyland by Stephen King over the weekend. I think next I’m going to read Pirate Latitudes by Michael Crichton (it’s a finished manuscript that was found in his desk after he died).

    Like

  3. That’s a lot of books and sounds like such a cool accomplishment, this sounds so bad but I honestly cannot remember the last time I read a book, maybe 5/6 years ago and I was forced to do it because of school for leisurely reading maybe over 10 years ago and I’m 18 now.

    I’ve never really given books much thought I’ve always found interests in other things but I can appreciate someone’s love for reading especially when they get through so many books 😂. I’m going to need to pick up a book sometime if you can read 11 in one month I’m sure I can read 1 in a year 👌🏻

    Adellbaker.com

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I might give the good old Harry Potter a shot, I’m a bit of a Potter fan (the films) but I’ve never thought about giving the books a try – thanks !! I’ll also read up about the other books.

        I’ll be sure to keep an eye out for the blog post ☺️ xx

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Daaamn girl – you got a look of books in! With e-books I can easily smash three or four books of a long weekend (mainly because I love burrowing into my bed and reading for like 12 hours straight) but I haven’t been able to for ages because of work and “responsibility” … I may need to change that!xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

