Top 5 Skincare Products | Sitting In The Clouds

All my life I’ve been very lucky with my skin, no teenage acne, only a few spots here and there from eating too much junk, not drinking enough water, you know…the usual. But for the majority of this year my skin has taken a turn. It’s still not severe but for me but I’m struggling to maintain how it used to be. However without a few holy grail products, I would seriously be lost. And of course some of these products just help me feel pampered.



IMG_5110

I use the Simple Clear Skin Oil Balancing Exfoliating Wash each morning and evening as my daily face wash. I’m only, at 20, getting around to understanding my skin and what it needs. I’m now pretty sure that my skin is more on the normal/oily side of the spectrum, which means the oil balancing side of this face wash really works well with my skin. The exfoliating beads are super gentle so I can use it twice a day without getting irritation. The scent is barely there, so if your skin is sensitive to perfume or fragrant products, I would suggest giving this one a go.

I actually had a break, a few months back, from this face wash to try a new one…this was a bad mistake on my behalf. It was when I switched things up, my skin really started to break out more and get worse. So I truly believe the Simple Clear Skin Oil Balancing Exfoliating Wash is doing good for my skin.

IMG_5112.jpg

Only very recently I noticed something missing out of my skincare routine that I hadn’t used in ages. This got me thinking, maybe that’s part of the reason my skin isn’t so great at the moment. Lush’s Mask of Magnaminty Face Mask has been a lifesaver for my skin recently.  I never used to leave my cupboard without one, but with university making me stretch every single penny I had, I never had any spare cash to treat my skin to this wonderful face mask. As soon as I could, I restocked my cupboards and have seen an instant difference.

The packaging even states…”This peppermint mask does everything it can to fight eruptions and outbreaks and return your skin to tip top condition“…aka, the miracle product I needed. I use it two or three times a week, depending on my skins condition and whether I have time. I like to apply a generous layer with my fingers, leave it on for 15-20 minutes, then gently remove the mask with a clean flannel. It’s a face mask that tingles a little when it starts to dry on your skin but that personally doesn’t bother me and afterwards it leaves your skin feeling so smooth. I just love this product so much and I’ve definitely learnt my lesson of always having some of this in my bathroom cupboard.

IMG_5107

The final product that’s really helped improve my skin over the past four(ish) months is the Nivea 2 in 1 Cleanser & Toner. I’ve never really been into toners because they always made my skin sting and I never saw the point. However, I picked this product up on a whim when completing a 3 for 2 offer on Nivea products and it’s now an essential in my skincare routine.

Applying a grape size amount on a cotton pad and use circle movements to distribute the product around your face and down your neck. I use this product after removing my makeup, it is only a night time ritual for me,  washing my face. Even after removing my makeup and cleaning my skin, there was still makeup in my pores, so this toner & cleanser just ensures my skin gets a deeper clean. It’s also super moisturising so I find I don’t need to apply a night cream after using it.



 IMG_5106.jpg

Now onto the products that just make my skin feel good. I’m guilty of not applying body butter as often as I should and I know my skin punishes me. My legs especially are very dry and itchy. However, during the summer, I always bring the Soap and Glory Sugar Crush Body Buttercream out of the cupboard as it just smells like summer in the tub. It basically just smells like lemon sherbet and I’m a sucker for citrus scents.

I apply this after very shower to moisturise my skin. Super simple but a step I feel most people either skip or forget about. I know for sure sometimes I’m just too lazy. But you need to keep the rest of your skin hydrated as well.

My body butter choices change depending on the season or what I’m feeling but at the moment I’m loving the Sugar Crush Body Buttercream from Soap and Glory.

IMG_5109.jpg

The final product I’m mentioning today is the Nivea Lip Butter. Ever since using this lip product on a daily basis, every morning and evening, my lips rarely get chapped, when before they were always so dry. Making sure my lips are always moisturized is also a key step in my daily routine.



Without these products my skin would be suffering a lot more but I truly feel like Lush’s Mask of Magnaminty is incredible and allows you to see instant results (I may go do one now).

What are your skincare essentials? Let’s chat in the comments.

until next time,
xoxo, rachel

Print

9 thoughts on “Top 5 Skincare Products | Sitting In The Clouds

  1. I love everything Soap&Glory and always take advantage of the Boots Christmas 3-4-2 offers to stock up on my favourites and try new ones. After reading this post I will try the Nivea lip butter, just made me curious 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

