…And So The Journey Begins! | I Do Disney #1 | Sitting In The Clouds

Hey there, hi there, ho there, it’s a Disney kind of day. Glad to see your smiling faces as we pass along the way. There’s lots of fun and laughter here,all waiting just for you. All you gotta do make a wish, and watch your dreams come true….🎀🎧

cimg8646

Today I embarked on the biggest, most exciting, scariest and most utterly nerve-recking journey of my life. Today I applied for the Disney Cultural Exchange Program. Don’t know what this is? It’s a chance for university students to spend their summer break working in Walt Disney World. It’s a three month long program, usually lasting from June to August. You have to be at least 18 years of age, have one year of studying behind you, and speak fluent english to apply. (Read my “Motivation, No Regrets & Taking Chances” post to hear more about it and why I want to apply)

This has been a dream of mine since a very young age and so today was a massive milestone for me. Hitting that “submit” button was so exciting but now it’s just a waiting game. I have done all I can do for the time being. I will find out if I got through to the pre-screen interview around late August to early September.

The reason I’ve started up this mini blog series, #IDoDisney is so I can…

  1. Help others – when researching and learning all about this experience, I found so many videos and blogs about americans applying, their program is called the Disney College Program, and it’s slightly different, but I barely found anyone talking about the DCEP (Disney Cultural Exchange Program, the program for UK and Canadians applicants) so therefore I want to try and help others and be a reliable source for other applicants.
  2. For me – I want something to look back on and know how I was feeling at the time. Of course this series may start and end with this blog post as the demand for this program is extremely high so the chance of getting through is low. However, I will be applying for this program until I am no longer eligible so being able to look back when applying again, I think will be very useful. But hopefully that won’t happen.

At the end of the day, this is my dream and I will work my butt off to achieve it. If you want to know more and understand why this is such a big deal for me, I explain everything in my “Motivation, No Regrets & Taking Chances” blog post.


Let me know if you are a fellow applicant for the summer of 2018 so we can chat and go through this journey together. If you have any questions, leave them in the comments, I’ll be happy to reply to you all. I want to do another blog post soon all about the first step of the application process so let me know if you have any enquires about anything I said in today’s blog post.

I’ve made my wish so now all I have to do is “watch my dreams come true..”. Wish me luck!

until next time,
xoxo, rachel

13 thoughts on “…And So The Journey Begins! | I Do Disney #1 | Sitting In The Clouds

Leave a Reply

