2017 Goals | Quarterly Check In | Sitting In The Clouds

Creating goals is one thing, sticking to them is hard enough but when life get’s in the way and the goals you created slip your mind it’s near to impossible to keep on track with them.  That’s why a check in on your progress through-out the year is the secret to success….I hope anyway. I set myself nine goals at the beginning of 2017 and before I even start I know I have a long way to go in completing any of them. Oh dear….let the shaming begin.

blogging-goals

1- Reach 1,000 WordPress followersthanks to you guys each day I’m creeping closer and closer to this goal. At the beginning of the year I was at around 400, I’m now nearing 750. I haven’t been as active lately as I’ve kind of felt a bit meh about my blog, but we all have those times but you guys keep me going. Even with being a little less active, I still get the interaction from you which spurs me on. I would love to reach 1,000 followers by my birthday in June, but I think that’s pushing it a little.
2- 500 Instagram & Twitter followersI find it really hard to gain and keep a following on these two social media platforms. There are a lot of people out there who will just follow you to see if you follow back and if you don’t, it’s an immediate unfollow. I don’t get why but it’s annoying and means it’s really difficult to build a following. Unfortunately I haven’t been promoting my social media that well as I hate to be pushy. Each account currently stands at roughly 250 followers each. Pretty similar to the start of the year. However, if you would like to give my accounts a follow, my links are always at the end of each blog post. 
3- 100 Bloglovin’ followersIf I thought Instagram and Twitter were difficult platforms to gain followers, Bloglovin’ is near to impossible and plus now with the issue of them taking everyones content as their own many people have stopped using it and even deleted their accounts. I’m still unsure and unclear on this whole situation meaning I’m not so sure on this goal anymore.

reading-goals

1- Read 50 books. I’ve currently just finished my 14th book of the year and GoodReads says I’m on track so if I keep at the reading pace I’m currently at…roughly one book a week, this goal will be reachable.
2- Branch Out in Graphic NovelsI didn’t really think this one through, graphic novels are so expensive and I prefer buying my books brand new, therefore being a student I don’t really have the budget to buy graphic novels at this time. Maybe in the summer? Having said that, I did go to library today, first time in 3 years and they had a small graphic novel section. It wasn’t the best though so I didn’t pick any up. 
3- Step Out Of My Comfort ZoneI’m definitely doing this one. Out of the 14 books I’ve read so far this year only two have been romance/contemporary, usually my go to genre. I have actually been reading a TON of fantasy this year.

personal-goals

1- Finish my first year of uni, happy, still loving my course, the people and with a good grade- My first submission in February went well, my grades were good, not as good as I was hoping but I have a second chance to push my overall grades up with my next hand in. I’m still enjoying my course…as much as I can with all the stress and I LOVE the people. When I created this goal I had only been in uni like 2/3 months, as my first year is nearing a close, I can safely say I LOVE everyones company. I only have 8 people on my course and they are all so lovely.
2 – Use my Polaroid camera more – Um…kind of. It’s just hard being on a tight budget as I don’t want to use my polaroid film up too quickly as it’s fairly expensive. But I have been remembering to take it more places with me to capture some amazing memories. I’m using it as much as I would like and want so I’m happy with how this goal is progressing. 
3- Just be happyThis is a hard goal to evaluate but so far 2017 has been treating me well. Being on a student budget I’m surprised by the amount of things I have still be able to do. Tom is still in my life and that makes a whole load of difference to my happiness. My health is steady, memories are being created and life is good. 


Even though no goals are yet complete, it’s been great to refresh my memory of the goals I have set myself so I can get back on track with some of them. Most of my goals, however, are gradual and I am on the right path to get them complete, for example being happy is something I will have to evaluate at the end of the year.

Are you on track with your 2017 goals? Let me know some of your goals in the comments.

until next time,

xoxo, rachel
twitter | instagram


My Latest Post

Spring and Simple | OOTD

Similar Post

2017 Goals

4 thoughts on “2017 Goals | Quarterly Check In | Sitting In The Clouds

Leave a Reply

