L’Oreal V Maybelline | Foundation Wars | Sitting In The Clouds

When there are so many different products on the market which are so similar it’s hard to know exactly which one will suit you best and which one you’ll fall head over heels in love with. There are so many factors to consider and without having tried and tested each one in turn, it’s sometimes impossible to make the right choice. But don’t fret, today I’ll be comparing two of the most spoken about drugstore foundations that are currently on the market, the L’Oreal Infallible 24HR Matte and the Maybelline Fit Me Matte + Poreless foundation. Both offer similar things but at the end of the day which one comes out on top?

IMG_4575

The L’Oreal Infallible Matte foundation has been my go to for about a year now. I love L’Oreal foundations, I used to use their highly acclaimed True Match, as they have a wide range of shades allowing anyone to get their exact shade…or near enough, which is something other high-street brands are still struggling to get right. However when my shade, Natural Rose, wasn’t in stock and I couldn’t pick up a new one, I decided to try a similar one that I had my eyes on, the Maybelline Fit Me Matte and Poreless foundation.

The other day I put them both to the test, applying each foundation to half my face to see how they faired through-out the day. I started this experiment at 10:30am, which was when I had applied my makeup. It was a weekend so I was only doing mundane household tasks, uni work, a few chores, blogging and chilling with family.

Both foundations are from the drugstore so both wouldn’t break the bank and leave your purse empty. I’ll start off by saying, both foundations are good for the price you pay. The Maybelline Fit Me Matte and Poreless retails at £5.99 while the L’Oreal Infallible 24HR Matte prices at £7.99.

IMG_1346(LEFT: Maybelline Foundation | RIGHT: L’Oreal Foundation)

The first difference I noticed whilst I was applying both (I applied both foundations with a damp beauty sponge) was the consistency of the foundations. The Maybelline Fit Me foundation was a lot runnier while the L’Oreal one had a thicker consistency.  The consistency of the products could reflect on the coverage as the Maybelline foundation, I personally found, was more between light to medium than a medium to high coverage the L’Oreal one provided.

IMG_4579

IMG_4582

However, both foundations stayed true to their name about being matte. As soon as I applied both foundations they were instantly matte, no powder needed, although I did apply my trusty Rimmel Stay Matte powder to my entire face anyway.

IMG_1347.JPG(with concealer and powder)

After I had applied a full face of makeup and started to get on with my daily tasks I started to notice that I could feel the Maybelline Fit Me foundation sitting on my skin, which I had’t yet noticed with the L’Oreal Infallible foundation. Because of this I decided to see if there was any transfer with either one of the products. Unfortunately because of how much heavier the Maybelline foundation felt on my face there was quiet bad makeup transfer with the Maybelline Fit Me. This is one factor I have continued to notice with the Fit Me foundation, hugging my boyfriend now I’m conscious of my makeup going on his clothes. So even though the Maybelline one reduces and hides my pores and gives my face a really smooth base for the rest of my makeup to sit it feels a lot heavier on my skin. I did find though because of this, all other makeup applied and blended out a lot better thanks to the matte and poreless base the Maybelline foundation gave.

The L’Oreal Infallible Matte on the other hand is super lightweight, I never felt it as a second layer of skin and there was barely any/no transfer onto clothes when wearing this foundation.

IMG_1350

Through-out the day I started to notice a difference in how each foundation was wearing on my skin. The Maybelline Fit Me foundation says it’s for normal to oily skin, on that spectrum I class myself as having normal skin, yet this foundation was getting shiny around my T-Zone area after a couple of hours of wear. For this reason, I don’t believe the formula is suited for oily skin. To keep this foundation matte you would have to touch up with powder every couple of hours.

At the end of the day when it came to removing my makeup, the L’Oreal foundation was still intact, it was still 100% matte, no shine and no touch ups needed through-out the day which unfortunately I can’t say the same with Maybelline.

To be honest, I can’t fault the L’Oreal foundation. I wore it in Florida heat last summer when I went to Disney and I was walking around the parks all day, sweating, not once did I feel it on my face or it sliding off. It was definitely lightweight and when I got back to the hotel after a sometimes 9 hour day my face still wasn’t shiny. The packaging says 24H Matte, now it may not be 24 HOURS but it’s definitely matte for the entirety of the time you’re wearing it, 9 hours plus.

IMG_4577

So let’s recap….

Maybelline Fit Me Matte and Powerless Foundation:
– £5.99 (£2 cheaper)
– less coverage
– matte without powder to begin with but needs powder top ups through-out the day to stay matte
– feels heavy on the skin causing a lot of makeup transfer
– pore are less visible allowing for smoother makeup application and nicer blending of other powder products

L’Oreal Infallible Matte Foundation:
– £7.99
– higher coverage
– really lightweight, doesn’t feel like a second layer of skin at all, meaning barely any to no makeup transfer
– lasts all day without any touch ups

IMG_4578

Overall, for me the L’Oreal Infallible Matte wins this time around. For me it’s a better match for what I’m looking for in a foundation.  I love how matte it is and how it stays matte for a really long period of time. I don’t need to worry about being shiny through-out the day and carrying powder with me so I can touch up. So although it’s £2 more expensive and that £2 could get me a much needed hot chocolate, I would still choose the L’Oreal Infallible over the Maybelline Fit Me. I am a little upset about not liking the Maybelline Fit Me foundation though as the Maybelline Fit Me concealer I LOVE and adore and it’s a holy grail product of mine.

Having said all that, I’m glad to have tried this comparison, thank you Julie for suggesting for me to do this and I hope it helped you out, as I’m glad I have been able to try a similar product on the market but I’m sorry I just can’t fault the L’Oreal foundation formula.

However these are just my own opinions and everyone and their skin is different so I would love to know your thoughts on either or both of these foundations.

until next time,

xoxo, rachel


Check Out My Last Post

March Wrap Up & April TBR

Similar Post

 Drugstore Haul

16 thoughts on “L’Oreal V Maybelline | Foundation Wars | Sitting In The Clouds

  1. This was just the post I needed as I have been looking up reviews about both of these foundations! I need a new day-to-day drugstore gem, haha. This was such a great review, thank you for so much detail! Do you think the Loreal one would be good for dry skin?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great entry! I’m definitely going to try the L’Oreal at some point… I’m still testing out the Maybelline myself to see how I like it. I do like it – it looks good on from the start, I don’t have to struggle to get it to blend, and I like the amount of coverage (I don’t think I’ve ever had a full coverage foundation, I don’t need it). However, the one thing I’ve noticed, like you also said, is that it does get shiny throughout the day, even though it’s supposed to be matte. I put it on in the morning and use my ID Bare Minerals Mineral Veil on top, and when I go to the bathroom in uni a few hours later it’s getting shiny, especially on my forehead. I get very oily skin in my t-zone, so this is really annoying to me, as that’s not where I want to be shiny. That’s why I’ll probably pick up the L’Oreal after my next paycheck or something 🙂 Thank you for writing this! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! So glad you liked it! If I hadn’t of been hooked on the L’Oréal one and had tried the Maybelline one first, I would have loved it, but because the L’Oreal truly does stay matte for HOURS, the Maybelline one just doesn’t compare. I thinks that’s the only major let down of the Maybelline one, which is a bigger for me, if it did stay matte all day, I would be all for it 💖 let me know how you get on with the L’Oreal one 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think your review is spot on because I’m normal dry and as much as I love loreal matte it’s too drying on my face to continue using despite the beautiful finish, however the maybelline matte and poreless was not drying and I didn’t think as matte, in fact I alternate between my smooth and feet and matte and poreless. I agree with you as an oily skinned gal may not get great longevity or performance from the maybelline

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

