March Wrap Up & April TBR | Sitting In The Clouds

As my reading goes, 2017 has been an amazing year for me so far. No books have been rated under 3 stars, my lowest being a 3.75 stars to My Chemical Hearts by Krystal Sutherland and my reading pace, although not fast in the slightest, with uni and other things going on in my life right now, I’ve read a total 13 books so far and GoodReads says I’m one book ahead of schedule, which is awesome for me. With April quickly approaching I’m happy to say I’m pleased with my reading so far this year.

March was my best month for reading so far but it isn’t over yet, with four days left, I’m hoping to complete one final book, bringing my total up six books.

March Wrap Up

  • Caraval by Stephanie Garber (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️) – second five star read of the year and easily the best book I read this month
  • The Pottermore Short Story Collection by JK Rowling
    Power, Politics and Pesky Poltergeists (⭐️⭐️⭐️)
    Incomplete and Unreliable Guide (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)
    Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)
  • One Night In Italy by Lucy Diamond (⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️)

I enjoyed all the books I’ve read this month with Caraval taking the lead as my favourite. I just adored this book, having heard a mix of reviews before reading it myself and hearing it be compared to The Night Circus, I was skeptical as I hated that book, but oh my!! Caraval was leaps and bounds better…unpopular opinion I know. I loved how you didn’t know what was real or fake and the whole atmosphere was amazing. I loved all the characters and I just can’t fault it.

I loved reentering the wizarding world and they were all good stories to keep me occupied on my commute to uni everyday. Heroism, Hardship and Dangerous Hobbies was by far my favourite as we got to know more about Lupin, my favourite character.

I also really enjoyed One Night In Italy, it had been unread on my bookshelf for around two and a half years. I had picked it up once before but soon gave up as I wasn’t feeling it but second time round I devoured it.

DNF’ed

I did unfortunately DNF one book in March, which is my first DNF of the year. I’m not afraid of putting books down if I’m not feeling them and they are pulling me into a slump, which Hold Back The Stars by Katie Khan was doing to me.

30839926

I just didn’t get this book. I’m going to keep hold of it a while longer as Goodreads actually rates it quite well but this time round, I couldn’t get into it. I do truly believe that sometimes it is you and not the book.

Currently Reading

pp

  • Poison Princess by Kresley Cole

April TBR

  • Endless Knight by Kresley Cole (Arcana Chronicles #2)
  • Dead of Winter by Kresley Cole (Arcana Chronicles #3)
  • Day Zero by Kresley Cole (Arcana Chronicles #3.5)
  • Arcana Rising by Kresley Cole (Arcana Chronicles #4)

If you couldn’t tell I want to conquer this series in April. As I’m currently reading Poison Princess, the first book, I want to just dive into each of the books one another another this month. I read the first three books back in 2015, Poison Princess, Endless Knight and Dead of Winter but I want to refresh my mind before reading the novella and book number four. I can remember loving this series and it being one of my favourites, it’s on my favourites shelf on GoodReads anyway, so I’m excited to see if I still feel the same as well as what happens next as Dead of Winter left on the biggest cliffhanger.


If I read those four books and knock that series off my TBR I’ll be happy.

How was March reading wise for you? Have you read any of the books I’ve mentioned today? Let’s chat in the comments.

I also have more of my thoughts on all of the books read this month on my GoodReads page, linked below.

until next time,

xoxo, rachel
twitter | instagram | goodreads


Check Out My Last Blog Post

March In Review | My Bujo

Similar Post

The Makeup Book Tag

8 thoughts on “March Wrap Up & April TBR | Sitting In The Clouds

  1. You should take a look at When They Fade by Jeyn Roberts in May if you get around to extra reading! It’s one of my new favourites. Full of suspense, drama, a touch of romance, and paranormal horror – I think you’ll like it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

