March In Review | My Bujo | Sitting In The Clouds

Welcome Back!!!…but I’m actually getting bored of saying that every time I start a new post, so you may not see it in my next one, but anyway. This past month I’ve been trying to really utilise my bullet journal and make it something more than just a place I write my to-do lists down in. It’s always been a place to let my creativity flow so at the end of February after being so inspired by Boho Berry, I took inspiration from a lot of her spreads to try for myself, therefore it was the first month in my bullet journal that I used a “month in review” spread and it’s came in so handy that I thought I’d share it with you guys.

IMG_4528.jpg

Now a “month in review” spread varies for everyone but generally it’s a spread in your bullet journal to evaluate how your month has gone; what pages worked well and you want to create again for the upcoming month, what spreads just really didn’t work and new ideas you have and want to try. Doing this enables you to really look at how to fully use your bullet journal and have no wasted space. I LOVED doing this spread and I feel it’s enabled my April spreads to really adapt and evolve into spreads that will really help me.

IMG_4531.jpg

I’ve been using the same monthly overview spread since starting starting this particular bullet journal back in September. I, did however, used to use a different format which I wanted to try out again and see if it still worked for me. I still really enjoy the classic box a day calendar spreads, I just wanted to switch things up. Therefore in my April Plan With Me you’ll be seeing a new monthly spread.

IMG_4535.jpg

I thought my other monthly overview page would be a great spread to put all my monthly to-dos, blog posts, books to read, etc, however in the end it just become a dead space. Although I did try to use it, I never really flipped back to it and this spread. After trying it for a second time, I have decided this style of spread just isn’t for me.

My “One Line A Day” spread on the other hand, worked really well. I knew it would as I love my “One Line A Day” book, but having this spread within my bullet journal instead of having it in a completely different book was really helpful. It’s a spread that I have continued onto April along with new spread I’m really excited to use. However, you’ll have to wait for my April Plan With Me to see what it is.

IMG_4537.jpg

My blog tracker spread is one that never disappoints. It enables me to track my blog posts, plan ahead my posts for the entire month, and write down any new ideas. I love how I use it and how it looks, I don’t think I’ll be getting rid of it or switching it up any time soon.

IMG_4540.jpg

Now my time log started out strong but it fizzled out around the middle of the month. Because I’m kind of a perfectionist I had to have one block of each colour meaning I had to track where my hours of the day went on a post-it note and then at the end of the day, add it all up and then track it in my bullet journal. This just became hassle for me during the weekdays with work and uni, things I didn’t feel like I need to track, so this spread failed for me and I won’t be continuing onto April. It was a great idea that unfortunately just didn’t work for me.

IMG_4543.jpg

My spending log on the other hand was amazing. It made me really think about where my money was going, and if I wanted to buy something I knew I had to track it in my bullet journal and that always made me rethink if I needed it/wanted it. For this reason and the fact it helped me see where my money was going and made me cut down on things I didn’t really need, I’m continuing it onto April, but with a few new adjustments because the current spread is very messy so I’m hoping that my new layout will be a lot neater overall.

IMG_4544.jpg

Here is just a few brain dump pages I made. I’ve never been keen on brain dump pages before as I just liked my bullet journal to be like a planner, very neat and tidy and I found brain dump pages kind of messy. However, after being so inspired by Boho Berry and wanting to make my bullet journal more than just a to-do list book, I decided to try a brain dump page.

OMG they are wonderful. I was being told a lot of information at university one day and just decided to write it all down in my bullet journal on a “brain dump” page and it really helped me clear my mind and make me less stressed about it all. Although I haven’t really flipped back to either of the pages much, I still love having them as they have come in handy sometimes. I am no longer afraid of making my bullet journal a little messy with pages like this and will for sure be doing more in the future.

IMG_4546.jpg

This is a spread that you wouldn’t have seen in my March Plan With Me as I added it a few days into the month and that is my “sleeping tracker” spread which I LOVE!!! I track how many hours I sleep and how good I feel when I wake up. I also track if Tom has stayed round as I always sleep better in his arms….soppy I know and if I’ve read before I’ve slept to see if reading does actually relax me and help me get a better night sleep. So far I’m seeing a collation between getting 7 hours sleep and feeling really good. It seems the more sleep I get sometimes I worse I feel. I love this spread and I’m finding it really interesting so I’m definitely carrying it into next month.

Much like my month overview, I was just getting bored of planning out the same weekly spread each week and wanted to try something new as well as something more simple so it took me less time to set up each week. I got this idea from someone else, although I can’t remember who but I love it and found it worked really well for me. It still enabled me to track my water and habits within the week as well as my uni deadlines and other notes. This spread is a lot more clean and simple and a lot easier to read, I’m really enjoying them.

IMG_4553.jpg

As you can tell I added quite a few new spreads and collections to my bullet journal in March as I just loved being in there. One of my new collections is the “how I rate my books”. Now to be honest, I was just bored one night and wanted to be in my bujo so created this spread and although I really like it, I don’t flip to it at all, maybe one day it will come in useful.

IMG_4554.jpg

On the opposite side I have a monthly habit tracker and yes I was tracking my habits weekly but I wanted to try again with a monthly overview to see more of how each of my habits was playing out over the month rather than weekly. I much prefer it even though I did like the weekly. I have adapted it by adding a few new habits and it’s been recreated in April.

At the bottom you may also have noticed a mood tracker. This was a spare of the moment idea as I had some room left over but I actually really like it and have included it, but a new take on it for April.

IMG_4560.jpg

I was reading quite a bit in March and when I came to colouring in my old spread, I got so confused with which books they were and what order I’d read them and even the colour coding system so I started a fresh. I’ve seen loads of people use the bookshelf design to track their reading so I decided to give it a go and so far I’m loving it. I find it a lot easier to see what I’ve read as I now write the titles on the spines as well as the ratings I gave them as the colour coding system for me is a lot easier to read.The other page is a cute little quote by Dr.Zuess to fill up a blank page before heading into my new weekly spread.

I was enjoying experimenting so much in March that I decided to try another new weekly spread.

IMG_4562.jpg

I haven’t even started this coming week yet and I can already tell I’m not going to like this new spread. I got inspiration from “bujo_blossom” on Instagram as her spread is beautiful but it just isn’t working for me already. I completely forget to leave a space to track my water and my blog posts so I know it’s not going to work for me from the get go. I will be going back to my previous weeklies for April for sure.


I really enjoyed looking back over my month in my bullet journal to see what worked and what didn’t and I feel it has really helped me plan out for the month of April. My April Plan With Me will be live on my blog at the end of next week so keep your eyes peeled for that as I’m so excited to share it with you. It turned out amazingly!

Thank you for reading and supporting my blog. I did have a little one week break as I just didn’t feel motivated to write and I didn’t want to put our content just for the sake for it but I have some really good blog posts coming so get excited.

until next time,

xoxo, rachel
twitter | instagram | goodreads | bloglovin’


Check Out My Last Blog Post

My Current NON-Beauty Favourites

Similar Posts

The Bullet Journal Tag

18 thoughts on “March In Review | My Bujo | Sitting In The Clouds

  1. This is beautiful! I have a journal but I don’t have time to make it pretty. I just mainly use mine for lists at the moment as I don’t have time to make it all pretty!
    Yours looks beautiful! I have serious BuJo envy!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aw thank you! And just go for it. Get a notebook and some pens and start. Don’t compare yours to others and let it work for you, you won’t get it right straight away, it’s all about experimenting πŸ‘πŸ» I use the staedtler ones. I love the company, i have their fineliners, their felt tips and colouring pencils and use them all within my bullet journal πŸ‘πŸ»πŸ™ˆ

      Liked by 2 people

  2. This is great, after reading your Plan with Me for March, I was eager to see how some of your spreads worked out. I also tried a few new spreads in March and will need to review whether or not to give them a second chance. I love the idea of your spending tracker, I’ve always struggled with finding a way to layout a budget spread. I hope you don’t’ mind if I adapt yours for my own journal. (I’ll of course credit you if I do)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you for following my bujo journey! I will have my April plan with me up soon so you can see how my April spreads were adapted and changed from march! I’m excited! That’s awesome, I have changed up my spending tracker a little, made it landscape instead, think it might work better! Of course go for it! πŸ’–

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love your journal pages! I just started a journal and wasn’t planning on doing it monthly/weekly- just more of an all over the place kind of thing, but I really like the way your monthly spread is so well organized! I am going to start with a page or two of monthly goals and see how it works for me! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you so much!! When I first started I only did a monthly overview, dailies (which just don’t work for me now) and a habit tracker, as time went on I figured out what exactly I wanted to track and what would benefit me, bullet journalling is all about experimenting and no one gets it right first time. I’m glad I’ve inspired you, let me know how you get on πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

