Motivation, No Regrets & Taking Chances | Tea Talk #6 | Sitting In the Clouds

Welcome Back!!! A while ago now, but something that has resinatedΒ with me since is that you shouldn’t look back on your life with any regrets. I truly believe that you should be able to look back on your life and say “I can’t believe I did that” rather than “I wish I had done that”. That “something” may be sh!t scary and way out of your comfort zone but all you have to do is take that first step. The reason I’m saying all this is because recently during another plain and simple day at uni, our class had to sit through a “jobs & CV” seminar. I have a great internship at the moment and knew this class wasn’t going to be super helpful to me but I was feeling super motivated that day so I thought I might as well take the most out of it that I can. That’s when my point of view on life shifted. Now that may be a massive statement to say but since that day, I have never been so motivated to work hard to achieve what I want. That lecturer simply said….

“All you have to do is take that first step”

Of course she was talking about reaching out to companies and businesses yourself rather than just relying on the internet and job search websites but for me, it hit a completely different part of my heart.

If you’ve been following me for a while you’ll know I’m a HUGE Disney fan. My first trip to Disneyland Paris was when I was three months old, my first trip to Walt Disney World was in 2000, when I was three. Since then I have been to WDW 13 times and Paris around eight. I’ve pretty much been to one or the other at least once a year since I was born. I’m forever grateful for my parents for giving me a Disney filled childhood and for allowing my Disney heart to grow and grow. But something my parents never knew would become of this was wanting to work for The Mouse himself and not just visit him on holiday.

Scan 122110014

Since about the age of ten when on one of my many trips to the most magical place on earth I saw an english girl working at Disney. I wondered how? why? So many thoughts were going through my mind but the main thought was “a girl from where I’m from is here working. That’s going to me someday.”

Of course I was only around ten years old at the time so I didn’t think much about it but over the years since, I’ve been researching and learning all about the Disney College Program or the Disney International Program for students outside of the USA ever since. A chance for students who are studying at university level to have the summer of their lives. From June to August they have the chance to work for The Mouse, earning, learning and playing all at the same time. This is my dream!!!! To be able to work for The Mouse, to thrive, learn and grow in my happy place, to go to a place where the sun is always shining. The Disney International Program is a chance for my dream to become a reality. And that lecturer resparked that idea and love I always had simmering in my blood to come to the surface.

429966_3935664588084_194765003_n.jpg

This is the first year I am able to apply for this once in a lifetime opportunity but around two years ago I had a massive passion for it and was researching it day in, day out. Two things made me feel like this dream of mine wasn’t possible and never would be, something so out of my reach there wasn’t even any point trying; a controlling and manipulative ex-boyfriend and my chronic illness. Since then, a new man, a supportive, caring, amazing man has stepped into my life and my dad gave me one of his kidneys so I could live a better life. So with the combination of an amazing man who only wants the best for me, a working kidney allowing me to live a normal life and a lecturer who I don’t even think she knows how much she has impacted me life, this summer I’m applying for the Disney International Program for the summer of 2018.

I’m going to achieve my dreams. I’m taking that first step in making my dreams possible. I’m going to work in my happy place, I’m going to say I worked at Disney when I’m 80 years old in my rocking chair, flipping through the scrapbook with my grand kids because bet you not, they will be just as obsessed with Disney as I am. I’m not going to let life pass me by and I will not be sitting in that rocking chair regretting not having taken that first step and applied.

CIMG8625.jpg

I know how incredibly hard it is to apply and even get accepted onto the program because I’m not the only one out there who also wants this dream as much as me. Thousands apply, only hundreds get accepted. But I’m going to take that first step and apply because you never know what might happen because I was brave enough to step out of my comfort zone and follow my dreams.


I ask you, are you doing things to make your dreams become a reality? Are you already chasing your dreams? Never have an regrets in life!

Abi over at abisays.co.uk…ages ago, asked me to write a blog post about my dream job. Working at Disney, even if it is only for three months is my dream job. A lot of people believe the Disney College Program is only stepping stones in working full-time at Disney as people extend their programs so you never know where things in life can take you. All I know that is my dream job is to work for The Mouse and be a cast member who makes magical moments for guests, just like a whole load of cast memories have created magical moments for me and my family in the past.

This is my dream and I’m not going to let anybody stop me from achieving them!

until next time,

xoxo, rachel
twitter| instagram| bloglovin’


Check Out My Last Post

Lush Empties

Similar Posts

February Moments

13 thoughts on “Motivation, No Regrets & Taking Chances | Tea Talk #6 | Sitting In the Clouds

Leave a Reply

