Review: Brush Techniques Makeup Brush Cleansing Spray | Sitting In The Clouds

TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

Welcome Back!!! I received this product from my auntie for Christmas (What I Got For Christmas) and I’ve used it a couple of times now, really trying to enjoy it, but I just can’t. Since I got my first ever makeup brush collection, the RT Core Collection, I have used Johnson’s Baby Shampoo to clean them, and I swear by it, and unfortunately the Brush Techniques Makeup Brush Cleansing Spray doesn’t come anywhere near to close to competing with it.

BEFORE:

img_4123

AFTER:

IMG_4138.jpg

Pros:

  • Quick and easy to use. The use of the flannel helps dry your brushes as you clean them so they are dry immediately after use, therefore you are able to use them straight away. And because of this, I enjoy this product for my eyeshadow brushes as if I’m creating a complex eye look and don’t want to mix shadows, having this product on hand to quickly clean a brush to use again with a different colour is really handy.
  • The spray is even. The pump sprays the bristles evenly and sprays the perfect amount.

Unfortunately that’s all the positives I have for the product because overall, I just don’t enjoy using it to clean my brushes.

Cons:

  • It’s not a deep cleaning product. As you can see from the before and after pictures above, my brushes aren’t even clean after using this product. They are definitely cleaner as the flannel is dirty, proving it cleans them to some extent but not to the amount I would like.
  • It doesn’t work on big brushes. Like I mentioned above, this product is handy for eyeshadow brushes but my bigger brushes, such as my RT Face Expert and Powder Brush it just doesn’t clean well at all.
  • Dirty Flannel. Now this may just be a personal preference but I don’t like using a flannel to clean my brushes, I just don’t think it does as good as job as water and my hand. And plus, the more brushes you clean, the dirtier your flannel gets which means you are then trying to clean your brushes on a dirty surface. I just don’t think it’s very practical or hygienic.
  • It Smells. This is what really puts me off using this product, it just stinks. It’s not even a smell that is goes away after use. When I use my brushes after cleaning them with this product I can smell the product on my brushes when I’m applying makeup, which really puts me off using my brushes.

Product In Use:

img_4130

img_4133

img_4134

img_4135

img_4136

img_4137

Overall, I don’t enjoy this product and will stick with my trusty Johnson’s Baby Shampoo for the foreseeable future. I can see the appeal in a product like this though, as it is super quick and easy to use but this particular version of makeup cleansing spray just isn’t good. Having said this, I will hang onto this product and see if I gravitate towards it when needing a quick solution for cleaning my eyeshadow brushes but I definitely won’t be using this product on my bigger brushes again.

img_4145

img_4144


This product is a firm no for me and I won’t be repurchasing it. Have you tried this product? What are you thoughts? What product do you use to clean your brushes? Let’s chat in the comments.

Thanks for reading and supporting my blog and until next time,

xoxo, rachel


Check Out My Last Blog Post

January Empties

Similar Posts

Makeup Revolution Ultra Sculpt & Contour Palette

14 thoughts on “Review: Brush Techniques Makeup Brush Cleansing Spray | Sitting In The Clouds

  1. This post was super useful – I feel like it would be great if you only used it on eyeshadow brushes? The deep clean bit bothers me a lot about these spray cleaners as you don’t clean them for them to just remain half dirty! haha xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

