The Makeup Book Tag | Sitting In The Clouds

TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

Welcome Back!!! Combine three of my favourite things in life, makeup, books and my blog, you get the most perfect tag for me. This is quite an old tag but when I saw “Ariel Bissiet” aka one of my favourite booktubers and Estee Lalonde recently do this tag together it reminded of it existence so I really wanted to give it a try. I wasn’t tagged, but I don’t really think tags are really “tags” anymore, just a bunch of questions that are fun to answer and go around the Youtube and blogging communities randomly. So today I’m bringing back the Makeup Book tag, enjoy.


img_4059

Primer: Pick a book that left a lasting impression on you. 

Book Pick: It’s between two but I’ll say “The Art of Being Normal” by Lisa Williamson as this was the first book I read in 2016, so I read it over a year ago and I still think about it today. It follows two boys, David and Leo, who go to the same school and you see from Davids POV his struggles of being a girl stuck in a boy’s body. It’s the first LGBT book I read and it was such a powerful story, I just adore it.
Makeup Pick: I’ve only ever tried two primers and I loved them both but I’ll go with Benefits Porefessional.

img_4061

Foundation: Favourite first book in a series.

Book Pick: Cinder by Marissa Meyer.
Makeup Pick: If you’ve been following me a while you’ll know this answer and that’s the L’Oreal Infallible Matte foundation (review here).

img_4063

Concealer: Pick a character you wish didn’t exist. 

Book Pick: Did I Mention I Love You? series. OMG Eden’s dad is so f***ing stubborn and annoying. Ugh I hated him in this series so much so that I can’t even remember his name.
Makeup Pick: It used to be Collection Lasting Perfection but I’ve recently found something better and that’s the Maybelline Fit Me concealer, now it may be double the price but personally I feel it performs better.

img_4064

Powder: Pick your favourite last book in a series. 

Book Pick: Now I don’t know if novellas count but I couldn’t think of anything else. I’m going to go for Just One Night by Gayle Foreman. I absolutely adored how this series wrapped up and really felt like for once a novella actually added something extra to a story.
Makeup Pick: This powder is so highly spoken about in the beauty world and I can only follow the crowd and agree and that’s the Rimmel Stay Matte powder.

img_4065

Eyebrows: Pick a book you think everyone should read.

Book Pick: This was a really tricky one for me, not because I couldn’t’ think of any but because so many books popped into my head. But I’m going to go with “Am I Normal Yet?” by Holly Bourne. This books follows a girl called Evie who suffers with severe OCD and the way Holly wrote about such a sensitive topic was amazing. It was such an uplifting story for a book based around a mental illness. I just adore this book and the entire Spinster Girl series.
Makeup Pick: Freedom Brow Pomade + the Real Techniques Brow Set = the perfect brow.

img_4066

Eyeshadow: Pick a book with your favourite colours on the cover.

Book Pick: My favourite colours are blue and grey and although I have some nice book covers with these colours on, the book that’s standing out to me is Fantastic Beasts and Where To Find Them Screenplay because just look….it’s STUNNING.
Makeup Pick: Why wouldn’t I say the Morphe 35T palette for this question? It’s been my go-to eyeshadow palette since receiving it and I haven’t used anything else. I just love everything about this palette. (full review here).

img_4067

Eyeliner: Pick a dark and mysterious book. 

Book Pick: I don’t really read many thrillers or mystery books but I did really enjoy Girl On The Train by Paula Hawkins when I read it at the end of last year. It was a fun, fast paced read with lots of plot twists. I had so many theories of what was going to happen but none of them were right. I was so shocked at the end and I loved it.
Makeup Pick: Once again, I don’t wear eyeliner on a daily basis because I don’t want to ruin the eyeshadow I’ve just applied but when I do take that risk of applying eyeliner, I always sway towards the Collection Fast Stoke Liquid Eyeliner.

img_4068

img_4069

Mascara: Pick a long book. 

Book Pick: I’ll just go with the longest book that’s currently sitting on my bookshelf and that is…Winter by Marissa Meyer at 803 pages. I have yet to read this book but I am really looking forward to it. I adored Cinder and Scarlet when I read them and I’m hoping to pick up Cress soon. The Lunar Chronicles is just a great series.
Makeup Pick: Maybelline Lash Sensational Luscious Oil Blend. I don’t think I can mention this product more times on my blog. LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!

img_4070

Highlighter: Pick a book that brightens your day. 

Book Pick: For me that is any contemporary, I just adore any one I read. I don’t think I’ve ever given a contemporary less than 3 stars. But if I had to pick one, a book I recently read and kept me grinning and gushing through-out was Girl Online: On Tour by Zoe Sugg. This book was just too cute for words.
Makeup Pick: It’s my go-to trio at the moment, the Makeup Revolution Ultra Sculpt and Contour palette. (review here)

img_4073

Lipstick: Your favourite book kiss. 

Book Pick: I really had to think about this one as none really stood out to me, which is strange as loads of kisses happen in contemporaries but I guess I don’t really focus on the kisses in books and for that reason I’m just going to go with one of my favourite contemporaries of all time and that’s…Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher.
Makeup Pick: Mac’s Velvet Teddy…finally an easy choice.


And that’s it…that was quite long wasn’t it? Oh well. I hope you enjoyed it nevertheless and either discovered some new books or some new makeup products or both.

until next time,

xoxo, rachel


Check Out My Last Blog Post

The Blogger Recognition Award

Similar Posts

Top 5 Contemporaries

Favourite Books of 2016

MOTD: Christmas Day

2016 Makeup Favourites

 

 

16 thoughts on “The Makeup Book Tag | Sitting In The Clouds

Leave a Reply

