Welcoming 2017 in my Bullet Journal | Sitting In The Clouds

TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

Welcome Back!!! I had hardly made a dent in my bullet journal for 2016 as I only started my new one in September so I thought it would be pointless to move into a new journal for the new year despite how much I wanted to. However, I’m really pleased at how I divided the years and started a fresh for 2017 but in the same bullet journal.

IMG_4046.JPG

To divide the two years I decided to take a double page spread and list all my year goals on one page and create a nice decorative page with one of the quotes I love and I want to try and focus more on in the new year on the other. I absolutely love this double page spread and it’s now one of my favourite spreads in my bullet journal.

The quote reads…”we take photos as a return ticket to a moment otherwise gone”.

IMG_4050.jpg

The following double page spread is my January monthly view. I’ve been using this exact monthly view layout since starting university in October and I really like it and how it works for me. It enables me to plan for the entire month and let’s me easily see how my month is going to plan out. And it’s just so simple and easy to use that I didn’t not want to include it for the new year as it really helps me stay on track.

IMG_4053.JPG

I’ve been using a blog tracker of some sort since I started my bullet journal. However, for the new year I thought I’d revamp it a bit. It used to only take up one page but for 2017, I decided to take two pages and on the other page create a check list with tick boxes for “photos taken”, “written”, “edited” and “posted”. So far this is working really well and helping me stay more organised with my blog. I also created a nice big “notes” box where I can write down any blog posts I want to make sure to post in that month as well as anything else blog related that comes to mind.

IMG_4056.jpg

If you’ve been following me a while, you’ll know that I LOVED my cinema movie spread from 2016 and I loved it so much I had to bring it into 2017. However, since the cinema spread only took up one page, I thought of what I could include on the other single page before my first weekly spread started on the flip side. I finally decided to create a 2017 reading tracker. My goal for 2017 is to read 50 books so I created 50 boxes and each time I complete a book I can colour in a box. I know this method works really well for me and helps me stay motivated as I love colouring in boxes, it makes me feel very satsified. However, I decided to colour code the boxes.

IMG_4057.jpg

Depending on the rating I give the book depends on what colour I colour in the box. As you can see above, I created a little key to help myself remember. And following the key you can see that the first book I read in 2017 was a 5 star. At the end of the year, if I complete 50 books, it will be awesome to look back on and compare what ratings I gave all the books I read and just see the entire page coloured in.

IMG_4054.JPG

And finally it’s my weekly spread. You are probably sick of seeing the same weekly spread by now but I’m scared to change it or even rearrange it slightly as it works so well for me at the moment so I doubt I’ll be adjusting this layout any time soon. The only real difference is the headers for my weekly spreads. I’ve started working on my handwriting and love the added touch of colour around the font.


So although I didn’t change my bullet journal for the new year, I’m really pleased on how I decorated it and created some new spreads ready to help me conquer the new year ahead. Did you start a new bullet journal for the new year? Or did you stick with your one from 2016? Let’s chat in the comments.

until next time,

xoxo, rachelย 


Check Out My Last Post

December Empties

Similar Posts

2017 Goals

Thank you for the Memories

36 thoughts on “Welcoming 2017 in my Bullet Journal | Sitting In The Clouds

    1. Aw thank you so much!! โค I guess it is kind of organised but if it wasn't I wouldn't be able to keep on top of everything and I find colour coding really helps me as well as helps make my bujo pretty haha!! Thanks for the comment and the follow โค

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Your bullet journal is so pretty and colourful! I decided to start a new bullet journal for 2017 and I’m happy that I did. I like the idea of a new start. I guess that it’s a personal choice though ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you โค Yeah defiantly. I really really wanted to because I LOVE notebooks so it was tempting but I have a moleskin and it was expensive so I didn't want to waste it as I had hardly made a dent it in :/ I'm happy with how it turned out though so I don't mind โค

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I love this post ๐Ÿ˜Š Your bullet journal looks amazing! I have been wanting to start a bullet journal for a while and this post has given me some great inspiration and has made me want to create one even more ๐Ÿ’•

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! ๐Ÿ’–๐Ÿ’– it doesn’t matter about the drawings or your writing as long as it keeps you organised ๐Ÿ™ˆ you should try ir, just get a notebook and start! I only keep my really neat and decorative because I’m a creative person so it’s in my nature but it really doesn’t matter as long as it works for you ๐Ÿ’‹โœŒ๐Ÿป๏ธ thanks for the comment and kind words ๐Ÿ’–

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I LOVE your bullet journal! Next year I think I will get a bullet journal, but right now I have planner that just plans out your weeks and months. I do have a goal setting journal, though, where I write monthly/ yearly goals. I think I will look into a bullet journal next year, though, because they are a lot more fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Any planner is good! It’s what works for you to be honest, I just never found a planner layout that worked for me and the bullet journal is so adaptable to your needs that’s it’s perfect. You don’t always need to start a new planner in the new year, what’s also good with the bujo that you can start whenever because it’s just a blank notebook! ๐Ÿ™ˆ a goal journal sounds awesome though!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw thank you so much โค I'm a really creative person (I want to be a graphic designer) so it comes naturally I guess but practice makes perfect โค I've been using the bullet journal on and off for about a year but in September I started using it properly and haven't looked back โค

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

