5 Things I Want To Do This Festive Season | Sitting In The Clouds

TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

Welcome Back!!! Today was my last day of university before Christmas which means I’ve officially finished my first semester. I know everyone says that your uni days fly by in a blur but that’s a massive understatement. I remember my induction day so clearly that I can’t believe I’ve finished a whole term already. I’m loving every minute, of course it has it’s moments of stress and hardship but every part of your life has that at some point or another. But because uni has been so full on, for the first time in my life December hasn’t felt very Christmassy to me. It’s just been filled with assignments and deadlines and in my spare time I’m working to earn money and keep my head above water. I’m literally like a duck, calm and collective on the surface but paddling like crazy underneath. So now I’m officially on Christmas break for about a month, I thought I’d come up with a list of things I want to do to get into the festive season…finally!


Have a Christmas movie daystock up on all your favourite festive treats, put on your favourite onesie, make yourself a hot chocolate, grab a blanket and snuggle up on the sofa for an entire day to binge watch all the Christmas classics. 

I’ve watched very few Christmas films this year which is so bad for me as I usually start watching them in about October/November. I really need a catch up and I think it would be a perfect Christmassy day to put all my fairy lights on and get comfy on the sofa and watch all my favourite Christmas films.

Read a festive book…I‘m an avid reader yet I never really read books relating to each season  we are in. 

Books, especially contemporaries, give me all the feels so a Christmas/wintery read book that I can snuggle up with on a cold December night (totally copied that from a Christmas song..haha) would be perfect to get me in the festive spirit. And since uni has been full on, reading has unfortunately taken a back seat so I’m hoping through-out Christmas break I can get a lot of reading done.

Make a Gingerbread Housedo you want to build a snowman? No, but I do want to build a gingerbread house. 

Making a gingerbread house has been a family tradition for a few years now, last year even a dinosaur featured. We just go crazy with decoration and sweets and this year we are combining the classic Christmas cake and our gingerbread house to make an epic Christmas dessert. I think it’s going to be three storeys high, it’s going to be EPIC! We blast Christmas music and just have fun and it’s definitely an activity that gets me in the Christmas spirit.

Have Hot Chocolatenot just any old hot chocolate but the hot chocolate you make with a pan over the stove. 

I LOVE hot chocolate and HATE coffee so hot chocolate has always been my go to drink in coffee shops. I sometimes make hot chocolate at home with the instant stuff but it’s never as good. However, I was making one the other day and came across a tub of hot chocolate powder in my cupboard which said for best results to make it over the stove. I’ve always known that some people make hot chocolate this way but I personally never have. I think it would be fun to try and if I get whipped cream and marshmallows and all the added extras…maybe even a flake, it is Christmas after all, then maybe I could compete with the coffee shops festive drinks.

Go to Winter Wonderlandthe massive fun fair in Hyde Park.

Seeing as I live so close to London I find it strange how I have never experienced the magic of Winter Wonderland and apparently this year they have gone above and beyond any other year and it’s meant to be incredible. I really want to go and see what all the fuss is about. I know it’s around for a couple weeks in January but I think going before Christmas will make it that much more magical and festive. Maybe I can drag Tom along with me?


Surely I can get those five things done in the next couple of weeks? I’m so excited to be on Christmas holidays and finally having a break from uni. Christmas is truly my favourite time of year and I can’t believe Christmas is NEXT SUNDAY!!!! Like what?! Blown mind, the countdown is going way too quickly for my liking.

Are you on Christmas break yet? What plans have you got to help get yourself in the Christmas spirit? Let’s chat in the comments.

until next time,

xoxo, rachel 


Check Out My Last Post

Popular Books I Haven’t Read

Similar Posts 

The Christmas Tag 

Tea Talk #3 | My Festive Weekend

 

 

2 thoughts on “5 Things I Want To Do This Festive Season | Sitting In The Clouds

Leave a Reply

