My Go-To Autumn Makeup Look | Sitting In The Clouds

TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

Welcome Back!!! When autumn comes around, us beauty lovers like to change up our makeup to the more bronzy eyeshadows, the matte complexions and the darker lips. But I’ve got to admit, I’ve always tended to stay towards the warm browns and the more neutral tones when doing my makeup anyway. However, I have seen a shift in what I’m applying lately so I thought I’d share with you my go-to look for this autumn season.

mascara-done-selfie


How I created the look….

I start by creating a nice smooth base for my foundation. I applied the Simple’s Kind To Skin Light Moisturiser which I love because it sinks into the skin quickly and leaves it feeling smooth ready for makeup application. Then I apply Maybellines Baby Skin Face Primer to ensure my makeup stays all day.

skincare-primer-applyskincare-face-cream-simple-apply

You’re either in the group that does their foundation before their eyebrows or you’re in the group who do their eyebrows first. Personally, I’m the latter. 

Next, I like to fill in my eyebrows using the Freedom Eyebrow Pomade in Dark Brown with the Elf Small Angled Brush. I’ve been really enjoying a stronger brow at the moment and this product is perfect for creating a strong yet natural brow. I’ve had multiple compliments on my eyebrows when I use this product.

eyebrows-2

eyebrows-3

Just look at the difference

eyebrows-the-difference-2

After my eyebrows are filled in, I like to set them in place using the Maybelline Brow Drama in Medium Brown.

eyebrows-finish

eyebrows-finish-2

Now it’s time to get working on the base. I love so many drugstore foundations that I tend to switch up which one I use depending on the occasion. Today I went with L’Oreal’s Infalliable 24H-Matte foundation (review here) and applied it with a RT Complexion Sponge.

foundation

mvi_2699-mov-00_06_27_09-still015

foundation-apply-3

Time to get rid of those dark circles but due to the L’Oreal Infalliable 24H-Matte foundation giving me a pretty high coverage, I don’t need to apply too much concealer but I still never like skipping this step. I like using Maybellines Fit Me Concealer in 15 which I blend out using the RT Complexion Sponge.

concealer-applyconcealer-apply-3

Now it’s time to set all that in place using Bourjois Healthy Balance Unifying Powder with a big fluffy brush. I like using my RT Duo Fibre Powder Brush.

powder-2

After applying the foundation and concealer, it’s time to get some life back into my skin. I use the Makeup Revolutions Ultra Sculpt & Contour Kit for my contour, blush and highlight. This palette is perfect for me as I love all three shades which I think is rather rare when it comes to palettes like this.

blush-palette

First I contour my face using the RT Expert Face Brush

contour-apply

I then add colour back into my face by applying the blush with the Elf Blush Brush.

blush

And finally to complete the face makeup, you can’t forget the highlight. The RT Setting Brush is perfect for this step.

dat-highlight-thou

highlight-on-point

that highlight though!! 

Now my face makeup is complete, it’s time to get working on the eyes. First I start off my priming my eyelids with the Maybelline Colour Tattoo in Creme De Nude. Although this product isn’t marketed as a eye primer, it certainly does the job as well as covering up any redness or veins I may have around my eye area, allowing the eye shadow I apply to really stand out.

[As you can tell this product is well loved]

eyeshadow-primer

eyeshadow-primer-apply-2

The eyeshadow palette I’ve been leaning towards lately is my well loved Urban Decay Naked 1 palette. My sister gave me her old one when she went out to repurchase it, so well loved is an understatement.

naked

I start off by applying the shade Naked into my crease as a transition shade with my RT Deluxe Crease brush. Doing this step before anything else allows all the other eyeshadows to blend more easily, creating a smoother and more professional look at the end.

eyeshadow-1

eyeshadow-1-apply

Next I like to go in with Buck, which is a darker brown matte shade to define my crease. I use a more precise crease brush for this step.

eyeshadow-2

eyeshadow-2-apply

Smog is probably my favourite shade out of this entire palette and it’s defiantly well loved as I’m now finding it hard to actually get any product onto the brush. I apply Smog all over my lid with my all time favourite eyeshadow brush. I don’t even know the name or make of this brush as I got it when I first started getting into makeup. I brought it from poundland and it’s hands down one of the best makeup brushes I have in my collection. Sometimes price doesn’t reflect the quality.

eyeshadow-3

After Smog is applied, I like to go in with Dark Horse to darker up the look. I apply Dark Horse in my outer third for a more smokey look. Sometimes I skip this step if I’m going for a more daytime look but I decided to go all out today.

eyeshadow-4-apply-2

eyeshadow-4

In life I haven’t been gifted with huge eyes and eyelids like the dolls you grew up playing with so create the illusion I have got bigger eyes than I actually do, I like to apply Half Baked right in the centre of my eyelid. Adding this step just makes my eyes pop and look bigger.

eyeshadow-5

eyeshadow-5-apply

And the final step in this eye look is to take Dark Horse again and apply it to my lower lash line to smoke out the entire look. I use the RT Accent brush to apply this. [Can you tell I have a little obsession with RT brushes?]

eyeshadow-6

Time to bring those eyelashes back to life. My all time favourite mascara for at least a couple of years now has been the Maybelline Lash Sensational mascara. But recently they came out with Lash Sensational Luscious and personally I prefer it. Therefore, I like to curl my eyelashes using Superdrug’s own eyelash curler, which are amazing by the way, followed by applying a few coats of the Maybelline Lash Sensational Luscious [review here].

mascara

mascara-apply-2

Just look at the difference….

mascara-difference

mascara-done-selfie-3

And finally….I congratulate you if you have gotten this far, it’s time for the lips. If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you’ll know I’m not a massive lipstick wearer but on the occasion I do wear it, it’s always Mac’s Velvet Teddy.

wheres-the-lipstick-eyes-shut

lipstick

lipstick-appy

And that my friend finishes my go-to autumn make-up look….

smile

smile-shut-eyes

front-on


WOWAZ!!! That was a long one but I really hoped you enjoyed. If you’re wondering how I got all these pictures, I’ll let you in to a little secret. I actually filmed myself applying my makeup and held certain poses for me to screenshot in the editing process. It’s the first time I have ever done a blog post like this and I’m really happy with how it turned out. Let me know what you guys think in the comments.

What are some of your go-to products at the moment? I would love to add some to my never ending wish list and leave my purse empty.

until next time,

xoxo, rachel


Check Out My Last Blog Post

Starting Uni + A Blogging Schedule | Tea Talks #1 

Similar Posts You May Enjoy

Fall Favourites

LUSH Review & Demo | Never Mind The Ballistics

41 thoughts on “My Go-To Autumn Makeup Look | Sitting In The Clouds

    1. aw thank you so much ❤ been wearing it everyday at the moment, I'm in love!! ahaha yeah and I think even love is an understatement haha! Putting a new one on my xmas list this year, it's time to get a new one hah!!

      Like

  1. Great post! Love how you filmed it and screenshot pictures its come out really good! Also I have to comment on how well you have used that eyeshadow palette ! Like wow I always get bored and move on to the next best palette lol … and I love how minimal it was and how nice it all came together!!x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. aw thank you so much!! I don’t really have too many eyeshadow palettes that I love. I have the too faced semi-sweet which i like but prefer my naked, but other than that I just have drugstore haha!! So happy you liked the post, thank you for the kind words xx

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! This blog post took hours to get right, I find it hard to include posts like these and that’s why they are not very common on my blog 🙈 maybe start basic with a motd (makeup of the day) with a few selfies and explain what products you have used and then advance onto tutorials xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

