I Have A Problem | Readers Problem Tag | Sitting In The Clouds

TWITTER | INSTAGRAM

Welcome Back!!! I’m Rachel and I’m a Bookaholic. 
I’ve watched and read many other people do this tag and although I personally haven’t been tagged, it looked like a whole load of fun to do, so here we are….

[Warning: This blog post has a lot of text and little pictures]

IMG_2697.jpg[This is only part of my bookshelf, I own over 100 books]


1 | You have 20,000 books on your TBR, how do you decide what book to read next?

I pick whatever takes my fancy at the time. I like making TBRs and I’m quite good at sticking with them but I’m definitely a mood reader. I don’t get stressed if a book is on my monthly TBR and I don’t get round to it. I like having a rough plan but I don’t mind changing it up if it means avoiding a reading slump. 

2 | You are half way through a book and you’re not loving it, do you quit or are you committed?

I’ll DNF it for sure. There are too many books out there for me to read so I hate wasting time on a book I’m not keen on. Sometimes it’s just because I’m not in the mood to read a certain book so I’ll put it down and pick it back up at a later date. For example, I’m currently reading Girl On The Train which I had DNFed earlier in the year but now I’m loving it and I’m almost read it all. It just shows sometimes its you and not the book. 

[edit: finished Girl On The Train this afternoon, I really really enjoyed it]

3 | The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far to your GoodReads reading challenge, do you try and catch up?

I was all for setting a Goodreads reading challenge in 2015, which I completed and I even set one for 2016. However, a couple of months ago it was stressing me out so much, that I decided to ignore it and I no longer have a GoodReads reading challenge or an active account for that matter as I’m just reading at my own pace and I’m rereading a load of my favourites and I’m loving it. 

4 | The covers of a series you love DO NOT match. How do you cope?

I struggle for sure but it’s something us readers can’t control. I will however, try and find the rest of the series in the same covers, if I can’t I have to silent cry. I’m very OCD with my books and my bookshelves and I’m already worrying about The Bone Season series by Samantha Shannon. I have the first two books and they decided to change the cover for the 3rd one…I want to cry. 

5 | You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

Shock horror!!! But I have never properly cried reading a book. I have teared up at only a few, including Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson but crying in public has never been a real issue for me. 

6 | A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book?

100% I will reread the book, maybe even multiple books that come before the new release. It makes the book reading experience a whole lot better as all the information is fresh in your mind. I read The Bone Season in 2015 and loved it. I picked up the second, The Mime Order but I’m scared to go into it because it’s such a developed world and story, so I’m planning on rereading The Bone Season even though it’s over 500 pages. I also reread Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher before the sequel Always With Love came out. I loved reading the two stories back to back. 

7 | You do not want anyone. ANYONE. borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?

I just share my experience of the time I let my sister borrow Gone Girl. She wasn’t living with the family at the time, she was living with her ex. She left the book at his flat, they broke up, I’ve never seen that book again. I then let my sister borrow We Were Liars for a quick, fun holiday read, it returned to me sticky with water marks. I’ve not let anymore borrow a book since. 

8 | You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?

Just let it happen. Your books aren’t going anywhere and once you are out your reading slump, you will enjoy and appreciate reading a whole lot more. 

9 | There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

Being a student I really try and limit myself to buying books. However, if an auto-buy author brings out a new book, I have to get it…hence the status “auto-buy”. For example, the 2nd prequel in The Maze Runner series by James Dasher just came out and I had to get it. 

10 |  After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf before you get to them?

It really depends how excited I am about the book. I still haven’t read Kiss of Deception and my auntie got me that book for Christmas in 2014. I still really want to read it, there are just other books I want to get to first. At the end of the day, like I said, books aren’t going anywhere. They will stay on your bookshelf unread until you pick them up, they aint got no legs to run away with.


I recently realised I hadn’t done a book blog post for ages so I really hoped you enjoyed this one and got to know me as a reader a little bit more. What are some of your book problems? Do you stress about non-matching book covers or how many books there are to read. Let me know in the comments. 

Thanks for reading and supporting my blog and… 

until next time, 

xoxo, rachel 


Check Out My Last Blog Post

Lush Review & Demo | Never Mind The Ballistics

Similar Posts You May Like

September Wrap Up & October TBR

My NEW Bullet Journal

 

13 thoughts on “I Have A Problem | Readers Problem Tag | Sitting In The Clouds

  1. Great answers! I try my best to not DNF books, though – it hasn’t happened in quite a while. But I did have one or the other book that delayed my reading… Like the one that kept me from catching up on my goodreads challenge last year 😀 For me goodreads actually helps to keep me motivated and stay on track 🙂 But I can absolutely understand giving it up if it becomes something stressful!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I try not to either but if I’m struggling to get through it and it’s dragging me into a reading slump, I will drop the book (not literally) for sure! Thank you for understanding, I feel like goodreads is a readers best friend but because I was rereading so many books this year and they didn’t count to my goal, I was getting so far behind so I just decided to give it up 🙈

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m exactly the same with books that I don’t like – I usually DNF them, and then pick them up at a later date. For example a few years ago I put down Allegiant halfway through the book because I just wasn’t feeling it, but I picked it up again earlier this year and I loved it! x
    Tia | http://www.tiasays.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

