My Thoughts on….Harry Potter and The Cursed Child | Sitting In The Clouds

Follow Me on Bloglovin’

Welcome Back!!! As the whole entire world probably knows, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child came out at the end of July and I think 99.9% of the population have already read it so I thought it was about time to let you guys know my thoughts on it as I know it’s had such mixed reviews.

(Just to put this out there… I’m not going to be reviewing this book. I just wanted to share my thoughts and feelings with you all.)

This post WILL contains SPOILERS!!


Where to start?! It’s another Harry Potter book….well I say book, I always knew it was a script to the West End play published as a book, but nevertheless it’s still another story within the Wizarding World so of course I was excited to get my hands on it. However, I had no idea what to expect from it apart from it was focused on Harry Potter’s son, Albus, 19 years on from where Deathly Hallows left off and to be honest I didn’t want to know any more than that. I didn’t have any sort of expectation because I knew so little about it and I’m glad I went into the story only knowing that much.

Let’s start by saying, I enjoyed this book on some level but I also had some issues with it.


 The Highlights: 

This book took me on another wizarding adventure which I enjoyed. I loved the time turner aspect as Prisoner of Azkaban is my favourite book in the Harry Potter series so to have the Time Turner back in this “book” was enjoyable and fun to read about. 

I loved how through-out all the different time traveling adventures, we got to revisit some of our favourite characters from the original series and some of our not so favourite characters.

It was really clever and well thought out how they interlinked the past books into this one, making the reading experience more nostalgic. Having Albus and Scorpius try and save Credic in The Triwizard Tournament, bringing back major aspects of Goblet of Fire, but muck it up and change fate was really clever and I throughly enjoyed reading about it and the different ways things could have turned out if different scenarios happened. 

The Not So Good Bits: 

Harry, Ron and Hermonie didn’t sound like themselves. I know they are grown up as this “book” took place 19 years later but the characters didn’t remotely sound like the characters we know and love and have read about. Harry was just mean to Albus, that isn’t in his nature and I found it very off putting. I didn’t really enjoy Albus’ character, he was very undeveloped and even though he was the main character, I kept reading for the entertainment of 2 characters who I never thought I’d say this about…..DRACO and his son SCORPIUS. Those two and their relationship and just how Draco has redeemed himself in this “book” made me so incredibly happy. 

Some events that happened in this “book”  were just so unrealistic. Yes, I enjoyed them and they gave for some great plot twists that I wasn’t expecting but Voldermort and Bellatrix having a kid?! really J.K. Rowling?! Really? 

The ending…..well, it fell super flat for me. It didn’t feel like the end of the story, it’s not how I expected to wrap up and closing this book after reading, I just didn’t feel satisfied. 


Having said all of that, I still gave the book 4 stars. 

Unknown

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Although this “book” definitely wasn’t needed and the script didn’t need printing into a book, I glad us Harry Potters have the chance to read the play, revisit the wizarding world and reconnect with some of our favourite characters of all time. Even if we can’t see the play, this script book enables us to know what happened 19 years on. The play is in such high demand, I can’t even get tickets and I live about 40 minutes away from London. Tickets are all sold out until December 2017. I’m still hoping to get some as I feel that the Cursed Child would be incredible on stage. 

Yes I had some problems with it but I also loved it at the same time. I recommend all Harry Potter fans to read it and give it a go, just don’t go into it expecting another full blown Harry Potter story, because that’s not what your getting and you’ll just be left disappointed. 


What are your thoughts on it? I would love to know, so leave them in the comments. 

Until next time,

xoxo, rachel 


twitter | instagram 

Check Out My Last Blog Post: 

The Walt Disney World Tag

Similar Posts: 

August Flip Through

July Wrap-Up & August TBR

5 thoughts on “My Thoughts on….Harry Potter and The Cursed Child | Sitting In The Clouds

Leave a Reply

