I GOT A TATTOO !!! | Sitting In The Clouds

Follow Me on Bloglovin’

Welcome Back!!! In the back of my mind I have always wanted a tattoo and I’ve always known the design I wanted as my first one…a disney one. Anyone who knows me knows how much I love Disney and how much it means to me so it made sense for Disney to be a part of me forever through a tattoo. When I met Tom my dream of getting a tattoo was finally in my grasp as I found out he also wanted one and knowing this gave me the courage to finally book it in. 

8f7da068741d61d15d8155c2bff37a96

My initial idea. A disney heartbeat for a disney obsessed girl. It was small, delicate and simple…just what I wanted. 

I did a lot…and I mean a lot of research into where I wanted my tattoo done and who I wanted it done by. After all, a tattoo is for life and you want to be 100% happy and comfortable during and after the experience. After about a month of looking and contacting people for quotes, I found a lovely girl called Liv through instagram. We got to talking, one thing led to another and I had booked in for my tattoo for July 9th. 

A little video that Tom and I filmed to remember the experience. 


I spoke to Liv a lot about my design, wanting to develop it and incorporating her “speciality” into it, which is dot work. I was not expecting how amazing her designs were. We received them through instagram the night before our booking and when I saw my design I was so excited to just get it done, it was so much better than I ever could imagine it,

The designs Liv drew up for us: 

The final tattoos:


Tom got an amazing watercolour Mickey Mouse on his thigh...he too loves Disney and wanted a Disney one to be his first, and I got mine on my ribcage. Everyone warned me before hand that the ribcage was one of the most painful places to get a tattoo but I knew that’s where I wanted my tattoo and I didn’t want to change the placement just for pain. Yes it did hurt but I’m so happy with the outcome, it was 100% worth it. 

Questions that may be asked: 

  • Why? As to why I wanted a tattoo…I am such a creative person and I see tattoos as art on your body, your body a blank canvas. As for a disney tattoo, Disney as always been a part of me, my first trip was when I was 6 weeks old. I’m disney obsessed, it only made sense. 
  • What did the pain feel like? It’s so hard to describe but to be honest it feels exactly what it is…a vibrating needle going into your skin at a fast pace. It’s definitely not pleasant but if you know you want it, it will be worth the pain. 
  • Did the ribcage placement hurt? Yes it did, I won’t lie to you. However it did hurt more in certain places. The side hurt more as my skin was closer to my bone. 
  • Did the dot work hurt? I actually found the outline to be more painful. The outline felt like someone with a needle opening your skin. The dot work just felt like someone prodding you over and over and over again with a pin. 

So that’s it!! I have a tattoo! It still feels so surreal and that it could rub off any minute now. After about a year and a half of wanting the same design, I’m so incredibly happy with the outcome. Tom and I made the right decision to travel over 2 hours to see Liv. She made the process super easy and made us feel super comfortable. She is so lovely and super chatty and all round a very sweet person. I would travel to her again for my next tattoo…and yes I’m planning on getting more, I’m kind of obsessed, always have been always will be. 

 If you have any more questions about my tattoo or the experience, leave them below and I will do my best to answer them. Do you have a tattoo? What was your experience like?  I would love to hear them. 

I was thinking about doing a tattoo Q&A or tattoos advice blog post as I found reading and watching other peoples experiences really helped me before I got mine. If you would like to see any specific blog posts about my tattoo, leave them in the comments. 

until next time…

xoxo, rachel 


twitter | instagram | goodreads

Check Out My Last Blog Post: 

Pretending It’s Summer | OOTD

Similar Posts:

Say YES to Life

19 thoughts on “I GOT A TATTOO !!! | Sitting In The Clouds

Leave a Reply

