My Top 5 Contemporaries | Reading in the Clouds

 Follow Me on Bloglovin’ 

Welcome Back!!! Summer time is the perfect time to read a good old fluffy romance. Contemporary is my favourite genre to read so usually if you see me reading it’s a contemporary so today I thought I’d share with you some of my favourites.

(these are in no particular order) 


  • Billy and Me by Giovanna Fletcher

2016_Blog_Billy and Me

  • Always with Love by Giovanna Fletcher – This is the sequel to Billy and Me. I still think Billy and Me is my favourite out of the two as I did have some issues with Always with Love but both books are still fantastic.

2016_Bloy_Always with Love

These books have great characters that just capture your attention from the first page. There are some surprising twists that shock you but that’s only because Giovanna writes characters that you automatically want to invest in. Great book boyfriend….BILLY!!! Great family dynamic and this is definitely one of my favourite things about Giovanna’s novels, she makes family one of the top priorities which you don’t see very often in YA novels. Overall, Billy and Me and Always with Love are great contemporary reads, perfect for these summer months…although in the UK it doesn’t really feel like summer at the moment. 

(Read my Author Appreciation blog post on Giovanna Fletcher here)

2016_Blog_Collective.jpg

  • Just One Day by Gayle Foreman – I’m currently rereading this for the TBRTakedown 4.0…although I’m not doing very well, this week has just been hectic with my internship and applying for colleges for October. Despite not reading much this week, I’m loving this reread. Reentering a world of travel in summer is just making me super excited for my holiday this year. I love Allyson’s story and how much she grows and develops during this book. This book is defiantly more about self-discovery but still a great contemporary read. I can’t wait to see Willem’s POV in Just One Year.
  • Second Chance Summer by Morgan Matson – A more emotional contemporary but still an amazing read. People title Morgan Matson…Queen of Contemporary and I know why she gets this title. She writes amazing contemporaries. This book is another book I love due to the family dynamic and how it’s more focused on that than the romance but don’t get me wrong the romance is just as good. 
  • Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick – All I can say about this one is Matthew Quick’s writing style is so unique and it may take some readers a while to get used to it but once you do it’s an amazing read. Mental health is a big part of this book and Matthew Quick writes about it so well. Highly recommend this book. I read it in two sittings. 

(Fun fact: Whilst taking these pictures I got bored and pressed record on my camera and somehow filmed a video talking about my favourite contemporaries and I kinda enjoyed it…maybe a Sitting In the Clouds YouTube channel is in the horizon)


So there we have it. My top 5 contemporaries. Of course I haven’t read all the contemporaries in the world but out the ones I have read…which is a lot, these are my favourite. What are your favourite contemporary reads? I’m always looking for new ones. 

until next time…

xoxo, rachel 


twitter: @rachelcerys_xo  |  instagram: @rachelcerysbutcher | goodreads: rachelcerys_xo

Check Out My Last Blog Post: 

My Birthday Snaps

(banner picture: unsplash)

7 thoughts on “My Top 5 Contemporaries | Reading in the Clouds

Leave a Reply

