Discovering A New World | Sitting In The Clouds

Follow Me on Bloglovin’

Welcome Back!! Today we’re taking a trip down memory lane and although this lane doesn’t have a very long path, it’s one I’m so glad I ventured down as I now don’t ever want to look back and I can’t wait to keep walking to allow me to discover more about this wonderful world I’ve discovered.

If you haven’t guessed by the banner of this blog post, I’m talking about when I first started reading. 

I’m not going to lie to you all and pretend I’ve been reading for years and years because truth be told when I was younger books and reading didn’t interest me at all, I actually found reading rather boring…obviously I had to read for school but I didn’t enjoy it. My sister,on the other hand, was the bookworm of the family. Although, now we are older (I’m 18 and she’s 21) my sister and I have switched roles and she no longer reads, she never even has a book in her hand or in her room for that matter, and I’m the sister who can’t put one down or go anywhere without one. It’s a bit like Freaky Friday yet I don’t ever want the roles to switch back. 


I discovered the world of reading in the summer of 2014. Yes, that’s right, I’ve only been reading for two years but that two years has been filled with many amazing reads and adventures.

Grace With A Book In Her Face (amazing booktube channel by the way) on YouTube once said…”you will finish a book, if you’re reading the right one” and it’s definitely right in saying so. So you may be wondering what book got me into reading? Well, ladies and gentleman the book that got me reading was…drum roll please…wow I sound like I’m about to announce a winner for an award, which is kind of true I guess. 

ANGLES BY MARIAN KEYES. 

IMG_1977.jpg

About the book: 

  • Title: Angels
  • Author: Marian Keyes
  • Genre: Adult, Chick Lit, Romance
  • My Rating: 3/5
  • What’s It About? aka…things I can actually remember about it: It’s about a women whose from Ireland and after discovering her husband cheated on her she moves in with her friend, Emily who lives in LA to forget about home life and the troubles it brought her. And that’s all I can remember because frankly I did read it 2 years ago and I’ve never reread it and since then I have read some other amazing books that have taken over my thoughts and this one has casually slipped my mind.
  • Will I ever reread it? Probably not. There are so many amazing books out there I have yet to discover and seeing as I only gave this book a 3/5, it’s not high on the list of books I want to reread. However, I remember loving Marian Keyes’ writing style and since then picked up 5 more of her novels. Angles is actually part of a five book companion series called “The Walsh Family” including, Angles, Watermelon, Rachel’s Holiday, Anybody Out There? and The Mystery of Mercy Close. Each book is told from the perspective of a different Walsh sister. I have read all but Anybody Out There? and I can’t wait to see where the adventures of the final sister takes us…when I finally get round it reading it that is. 
  • Would I recommend it? If you’re looking for a good laugh then these books are for you. Although each book is based around a different “adulty” topic, Angles – divorce, Rachel’s Holiday – drug addiction and rehab, Marian writes about them in a way that enables the readers to feel for the characters as well as laugh along with the family. One thing I vividly remember is how well the family dynamic was written and I think that’s why I’ve continued on with these novels. 

So there we have it, an insight into how I got into reading. I’m sure other people have better stories about their reading adventures than I do but I will always remember the one day I picked up that book and immersed myself into a new world that I was…at the time, captivated by. I was sat at home, alone and bored, Angles was the only book on my bookshelf and I just randomly picked it up. To this day I can’t for the life of me remember why I decided to pick it up and start reading it but I’m so glad I did because it allowed me to enter the world of reading, booktube, book blogs, GoodReads and so many other wonderful things that books and reading community has to offer this world. 

What stories do you have about your reading adventures? Leave them in the comments, I would love to hear them. And quickly before I leave you all I just want to thank each and every one of you that has followed, liked and/or commented on my blog. I only started my blog on the 22nd of May…that’s two weeks ago tomorrow and I’ve already surpassed 50 followers. I can’t believe it and just wanted to take the time to thank you all for the support, it means the world. 

until next time…

xoxo, rachel 


twitter:@rachelcerys_xo | instagram:@rachelcerysbutcher| goodreads:sittingintheclouds

Check Out My Last Blog Post: 

Fairytales Do Exist

(banner picture: https://unsplash.com/photos/9c_djeQTDyY)

6 thoughts on “Discovering A New World | Sitting In The Clouds

    1. aw thank you for stopping by and following me πŸ˜€ throne of glass hasn’t really interested me, although I read all genres, I’m a sucker for a contemporary, especially now it’s summer ahah πŸ˜› ❀

      Like

Leave a Reply

