My Summer TBR | Sitting in the Clouds

Follow me on Bloglovin’

(reading in the clouds = a section on my blog in which I will write all my book related posts so if you ever see “reading in the clouds” in the banner or in the title of a blog post you know you’re in for a bookish treat)

Welcome Back!! Summer doesn’t officially start until June 21st but come on it’s currently 18 degrees…and partly sunny and for us English bred human beings that means summer is here. And as soon as the sun shines in the UK the shorts are out, the sun cream is on, the ice-cream van music is heard and men of all shape and sizes have their tops off…some times that’s a good sight, other times not so much.  

I’ve been in a huge reading slump since March time…only blaming one person for this and yes that’s you Tom… if you’re reading this, which you probably are. I’ve only recently become an avid reader. The summer of 2014 was when I picked up and read my first book in donkey’s years and I loved every minute and since then haven’t stopped. I absolutely hate being in reading slumps because not only am I not reading but I’m not in the mood to watch booktube videos, go on GoodReads or even read book blogs so when I’m in a reading slump I’m completely out of the book loop. So I’m making it my mission this summer to catch up on every thing book related I have missed over these past months so without further ado here are the books I want to get to this summer.


I’m kicking off my summer reading with a reread of “Billy and Me” by Giovanna Fletcher as the sequel, “Always with Love” to her debut novel, “Billy and Me” is out on June 2nd but I pre-ordered it so I received it on May 27th….so incredibly happy because Giovanna is an auto-buy author for me. 

IMG_1926.JPG

As you can see I’ve started reading “Billy and Me” already and loving every second of this reread. I cannot wait to see where the story and characters go in the sequel, “Always with Love”.

With my trip to Walt Disney World and Universal Studios steadily approaching I want to reread the Harry Potter series this summer before going back to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter.

IMG_1935

Rereading Harry Potter is on my book goals for the entire year so I have already reread Philosophers Stone but can’t wait to continue on with incredible series. I read it for the first time last year and of course it’s now one of my all time favourite book series. 

May 27th was the day #DashnerDash officially started. Don’t know what this is? It’s where each month running up to the release of “The Fever Code” by James Dashner, the 2nd prequel (5th book in the The Maze Runner series), you read a book in the series each month. May 27th to June 27th fans around the world read/reread The Maze Runner while highly anticipating the new release. 

IMG_1936

(May 27th-June 27th : The Maze Runner, June 27th-July 27th: The Scorch Trails, July 27th – August 27th: The Death Cure, August 27th – September 27th (the release date): The Kill Order)

James Dashner and The Maze Runner series has become one of my all time favourite series after reading it. I read the books before The Maze Runner films came out and now the films and books are two things I always fan girl about. So of course I’m highly anticipating the release of “The Fever Code” (27th September) and therefore I’m joining in with #DashnerDash. 

A book I read last summer and gave 5 stars to was “Just One Day” by Gayle Foreman. However I never got round to reading “Just One Year”. I did start reading “Just One Year” a couple months back but I couldn’t get to grips with it as I hadn’t been in the world and with the characters for ages so this summer I want to reread “Just One Day” and after dive into “Just One Year”. 

IMG_1928

Another contemporary read I want to get to this summer and soon is “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes. This book has had so much hype… and amazing hype at that that I seriously need to get round to reading it. 

IMG_1929

And of course being a bookworm and following bookworm protocol, I need to read this before seeing the film which comes out very soon or is already out…not too sure which

The last book/s I want to get to this summer is the Percy Jackson series. I bought this series during the Black Friday Sales…5 books for £10, you can’t go wrong. And after hearing great things about this series and Rick Riordan’s I can’t believe I still haven’t gotten around to reading these. 

IMG_1933

Of course I’m planning on reading a lot more this summer but this summer is the first time that I don’t have the 6 weeks of no school as I’m in full-time work now so I wanted to keep my TBR pile small and less ambitious. However with my mission of getting back into reading in full swing I hope to finish “Billy and Me” by Giovanna Fletcher before June approaches and then get going on the rest of my TBR pile starting with “Always with Love”.


What books are on your summer TBR pile? I would love to know because if you tell me they might appear on my own TBR pile. 

until next time…

xoxo, rachel 


twitter: @rachelcerys_xo   | instagram: @rachelcerysbuter  | goodreads: sittingintheclouds

Check out my last blog post: 

Manic May | Monthly Moments | Sitting In The Clouds

(banner picture: https://unsplash.com/photos/9c_djeQTDyY)

19 thoughts on “My Summer TBR | Sitting in the Clouds

  1. Fabulous list. It’s so crazy, but I still haven’t read the Harry Potter Series. I said I would do it this summer. Wish me luck. Happy summer reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed this post! I’ve been needing some light reads for summer, so I found your blog just in time! Haha. All of these are great suggestions. In addition: I’d be curious to see some of your top favorite books that you’ve read so far! (Really lovin’ your blog, by the way!) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aw I’m so glad! Literally just finished always with love by Giovanna fletcher and I highly recommend Billy and me and always with love, such fun light reads for summer. Aw thank you so much, that’s means a lot! And you’ve just given me a great blog post, I’ll be sure to sum up my favourite reads for 2016 so far. Look out for it! Thanks for the suggestion 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

